Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L

Average Customer Rating:
4.514 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
65 of 70(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Review 1 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:06/12/2010
Reviewer: africanrefugee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money Dehumidifier.
"Despite having double glazing fitted to our 1B/R flat, humidity became a major problem with water condensing and running down the windows and walls as soon as winter aproached. Being new to the UK climate, and not used to keeping windows permanently closed, I was becoming frustrated with wet walls and windows. I purchased the 10L model on a special from B&Q after seing much higher prices elsewhere. The unit removed 3.5L of water in less than 24 hours and though I run it almost continuously It keeps the flat dry. It is almost miraculous how quickly the problem was sorted. Yes it is a little noisy if you are not used to a fan (and compressor) running indoors, but it is worth the noise.
Remember to follow the instructions (keep upright etc). Also remember the amount of water removed is dependant on room temperature (higher temp more water removed) and humidity. Also remember that a 10L unit cannot be compared to a 16L unit or larger. I would advise that if you have a large house having a number of smaller units in different places in the house is better than having 1 large unit, and expecting it to keep the whole house dry.
Also be reasonable with your expectations, a 10L unit wont keep a ballroom sized room dry, but then a mini cant carry 10 tons can it. Match the product to your needs and dont expect it to do what it can't."
Review 2 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:26/12/2009
Reviewer: Danuk
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
"I was a bit unsure about the size of this unit at first but it really does work, I bought it because of really bad condensation on our upstairs windows due to it beeing a bit cooler upstairs and large windows away from any radiators. we live in a 2 bed semi and this unit seems to work fine in this size of house the windows ar now totally clear even after cooking or baths etc.
The noise from the unit is no worse than a normal table fan you may use in the summer to keep cool although I found it to be quiter if used on the carpet than on a hard surface like a table where you get a bit of vibration.
The unit has a dial on top to allow you to set the humidity level of the atmosphere although this is down to a bit of guess work, the way I did it was to make sure the windows were dry, I then turned the dehumidifier on to constant for a few hours while I was out, when I got back i turned the dial down until the unit just turned off and that is where I have left the dial, that way as soon as the water level in the air rises due to cooking or drying clothes inside the unit turns on and stays on untill the moisture is returned to where you set it, it then turns off. anywhoo, after all that I highly recommend this unit."
Review 3 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:05/02/2011
Reviewer: Penner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than expected
"Been looking for a dehumidifier for a while now as I have a lot of damp and mould in my living room coming from the outside walls. Never really knew what I was looking for or which one to choose and after speaking with a lovely lady instore she recommended this one. (cost £50)
I wasted no time in setting this up and running. Within 4 hours I'd taken a pint and half from the down stairs. After a bath and it being stood on the landing it took another pint and a quater and overnight upstairs (approx 5 hours) another wopping 2 pints - so thats just under 5 pints of fluid taken out my home in less than 24 hours - I can only sit and imagine the damage that would of caused to my new wallpaper if left :-(
Once the initial drying out of the rooms has been completed I would think that an hour a day would be sufficient to keep on top of it and when I'm having a hot and steamy bath.
The unit isn't too big or to noisey, I found I was able to sleep with it outside my bedroom door with out problems.
Overall I'm pleased with this product and even more pleased that I didn't fork out on a named brand with a huge price tag - this does exactly the same as the others at a fraction of the cost."
Review 4 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:13/11/2010
Reviewer: Wiseowl
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product
"I have researched the internet for hours looking for ways to get rid of condensation that leads to mold in my house.
My Porch would be dripping in the morning, the walls and floor soaking, shoes and coats were wet, i was really fed up with the problem, especially when i knew there wasn't a leak.
I was planning on getting a rather expensive one, but i guess it was the name you pay for, so rather than fork out a small fortune, i decided to buy this from B&Q.
It has been plugged in since Wednesday evening 10th Novemeber, today being 13th november, it has been on all the time and in that time it has collected over 7litres of water, i am amazed at this amount, my porch is dry, the walls and floors are dry and its warm too.
The air in the house feels so much better, i can't begin to describe how much this machine has benefited my house.
I don't normally write reviews, but feel i would like to share my experience with others, as i am just a normal person living in a normal house with the same problem as most!
Before spending a fortune on a brand name, save some money and buy a cheaper one, as it certainly does what it says.
"
Review 5 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:09/02/2010
Reviewer: Chicker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Product!
"After finding condensation, which then resulted in mould on my walls and furniture this year I was at my wits end. After some web searching I found out that a dehumidifier should be the solution. I came across this one and after reading all the reviews, most of which are very positive, I decided to take the plunge and spend the £80.00. I have to say it was money VERY well spent, and I'd happily spend it again tomorrow - after only one night on in my 1-bed flat, all the condensation was cleared. I now run it when I have washing drying or cooking on the go and it keeps the place nice and mist-free. I can't recommend this item enough to anyone who has a similar problem. Its nice and compact, not noisy, although you can hear a small hum and on occassion a drip as the bucket fills up, but that was just a reassurance to me that it was working. Thank you to everyone who wrote a review, which lead me to buying this item."
Review 6 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:14/10/2009
Reviewer: hanko
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great little buy!
"I have a condensation & damp problem in my ground floor one bedroom flat, but as yet I cannot afford for it to be treated.
The effect of the condensation is that my bedroom and lounge walls get very wet in the colder weather and my bedroom permanently feels cold and damp.
I cannot believe how much water this little beast takes in! It's great - yes I do have to empty it in the morning, and then when I get in from work, but it's fantastic, and after just a few days I can feel the effects of it - much less damp, humid and the temperature has actually increased in my bedroom!
I have read some other reviews and hopefully after a couple of weeks, when the majority of the moisture has been taken from my flat, it will not need to be on as much and I can just have it on at night for example. Or even maybe just a couple of times a week.
But definitely recommend - MUCH cheaper than a LOT of others that are available."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:10/01/2010
Reviewer: martycee
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Updated model absolute rubbish
"We purchased a B&Q compact dehumidifier model number WDH-610HA early in 2009 and were so impressed with it that we decided to invest in a second just after Xmas 2009. The second didn't collect any water at all after 8 hours use and returned it for a replacement. That one barely collected an egg cup full after 10 hours. On closer inspection we noticed that the newer model has a number WDH-610HA-12R. It is a lot noisier than its predecessor and weighs less too suggesting to me that it's poorer in construction.
Regardless of that, the fact that even if it were working at 50% efficiency, we should reasonably expect at least a couple of litres every 24 hours as our original one does extremely well in some of our damper rooms. If you can find an earlier model grab it as the later (-12R) one is useless.
This in no way implies any fault with B&Q, whose staff are courteous, friendly and efficient."
Review 8 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:03/12/2010
Reviewer: 5Sunshine
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good for money paid
"I have a big 5 bed size delongi and 3 of these smaller B & Q dehumidifiers. I find that the 5 bed one does not get water off all the house, it is situated in hallway downstairs and the 3 smaller B & Q dehumidifiers are placed, one in the kitchen, and the other two in two of the bedrooms.
i find that if i dont run dehumidifiers then i have pools of water and even get mould spots, dehumidifers are great, but i run mine all the time day and night. with the smaller ones you need to do this especially as they dont extract the water fast, they are best left on for long periods or continuously. without them my windows would be running with water.
i dont know what they cost to run but feel they are worthwhile to keep the house and yourselves in good order.
B & Q make seems as good as the more expensive makes from my experience and i have had dehumidifers for about 12 years."
Review 9 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:09/03/2011
Reviewer: plymouthgirl
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great buy!!
"Having never bought a dehumidifier before, I was a little unsure which one to go for. However, after reading all the reviews on this product, I decided to go ahead and purchase this one. I am so glad that I did, the dehumidifier is great, I had a very damp and mouldy kitchen (quite frankly, the mould was horrendous and awful to look at), after using the dehumidifier for only one day, I could already notice the difference. Having had this product for only one week, the walls have dried out significantly. I used it continuously for the first 5 days (during which time I emptied the full tank 6 times). I now just put it on occasionally. I used to have awful condensation every morning on my kitchen windows, since using this product there is no more condensation. I definitely would recommend this product, it's a little miracle worker!!"
Review 10 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:16/02/2011
Reviewer: binkey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good buy
"I decided to buy one of these after trying one that my cousin had already purchased. It was reduced by £30.00 by the time I went for mine and being over 60 I was entiteled to a diamond card that took another £5.00 off. What a bargain. It is neat and well made and works very well. I can not believe how much water it is taking out of my bungalow. I had no sign of damp but it is still removing around 3 litres a day even after running for a week. It is not noisey humming about the same as a desk top fan. The air is much fresher to breath despite having the heating on constantly. I have a bad chest complaint and have coughed much less with this machine. I would, and infact have, recomend it to a friend. I have been today to get another for a friend."
Review 11 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:15/01/2011
Reviewer: akh48
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this a week ago and it is working well. I am having to empty every day as it is filling the collection tank, so obviously needed this.
I have it on the normal setting, but as yet it is still on continuously, hopefully once it gets the problem under control this will kick in.
It is a bit noisy, bit like having a fan heater on, but I dont have in my main room so not a problem. I have used on upstairs landing and downstairs hall and we do not hear the noise if we are in any of the rooms with door closed even at night.
Impressed so far and would recommend this.
Does anyone know how much it costs to run this a day just out of interest?
Also, are there any tips for recycling the water as it seems a waste just to throw away."
Review 12 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:15/01/2011
Reviewer: Pete1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effective and reliable
"Convenient size and easily moved around the house to where it's needed..
Reasonably quiet and very effective at removing damp.
I bought my 1st one 3 years ago and it has worked perfectly ever since so I bought this 2nd one for my mum's flat as she has damp & condensation from showers, drying clothes and cooking. Great value at only ~£70 in the Jan sale.
The distilled water it collects is also handy for ironing !
BTW dehumidifiers are not ' a glorified fan' as someone said in a review - but contain all the working parts of a refridgerator ie compressor, evaportator and condensor. That's why they cost more than a fan.
"
Review 13 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:21/11/2009
Reviewer: billy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dehumidifier model bqwdh-610ha
"i got my dehumidifier and put it to work the damp air it pull out of the air was a tank full which is 1.5L in just over 4 hours or you can continuous drain use a 13mm inner diameter hose. my house as 3 bed and is very old and damp and the windows and walls was wet but after a week all was dry and the dehumidifier only fill up 2 times a day now and the air fill free from damp and fill warm now and when we put the washing out it took 20 to 24 hours to dry but now only 8 to 10 hours to dry all coz of the dehumidifier its not loud at all its a must have tool"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:06/12/2009
Reviewer: Jerr
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dry as a bone
"I benfited from the other positive reviews of this dehumidifier.
Went to the store the other day, lugged it home and turned it on for the first time last night. I awoke to some nice dry air and the proof was on the windows. It was the first time in a couple of months in which the windows were not dripping wet when I woke up this morning!
Not sure how it is on electricity costs (?) but certainly keeping my ground floor bedroom in my flat dry. Not too noisy - although I do live on a flightpath so perhaps am acclimatised to noise.
A great product."
Review 15 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:20/02/2010
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent purchase
"bought one for use in my garage, although my garage is not damp. I have a couple of quality cycles, and 2 motorbikes so I want to stop any rust starting and was told best way is to use a dehumidifier so thats what I've done. Since installing about 1 week ago, can hardly believe the amount of water it has drawn out of the air, and my garage does feel alot drier. Definitly recomend one, and it's quiet is use. The only grip would be the lead could do with being about 1 metre longer, but I think the law dictates how long leads can be."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:13/02/2011
Reviewer: mike235
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good purchase
"Was a bit worried about buying this as it was so cheap, but decided to go ahead after reading other reviews. Glad I did as it does an excellent job. Thought it might not be very good at extracting moisture but it fills the tank in a 24 hour period. Bought it to dry out damp brickwork and wooden beams and has done the job. Some reviewers say it is noisy and you can hear the fan whirring, so would be annoying if watching telly in the same room, but it is only a bit worse than the noise from my PC."
Review 17 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:29/11/2010
Reviewer: Zara
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This is the 2nd one i have purchased after returning the last one. This doesnt work either, or at least i wouldnt know if it was working as the troubleshooting guide is not very helpful and there is no B&Q customer helpine. The lady at the desk didnt ask any questions as to why I was returning it so can only presume a few have been returned.
Its producing less than a cupful of water in over 24 hours, I only bought it for the spare bedroom but it cant do the job so Im returning this afternoon.
"
Review 18 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:18/01/2010
Reviewer: RayB
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good
"I bought my first one for our boat which had got very wet inside ( don't ask) I am very impressed with the speed it dried out the boat. Big advantage was the ability to drain to an "outside" outlet. I was so impressed I bought another for our conservatory which was dripping water due to the recent cold weather. Within 1 hour of putting the thing in the conservatory the windows were dry!. Very, very impressed. Quiet running and a nice piece of kit. I highly recommend it.!!
Regards
Ray
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:04/12/2009
Reviewer: PaulHere
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect price and performance
"After a bit of shopping around we found this dehumidifier, the price seemed about right and the unit was the right size to be used in a small flat.
In the first 6-7 hours of use it pulled in well over a litre of water and continues to perform well after a week of use.
The unit is well built and looks OK in our kitchen, it does emit a low humming from the fan but it is a refined sound and unobtrusive in the daytime.
Subject to its future performance it deserves our 5 star rating.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for B&Q Compact Dehumidifier 10L
Date:16/02/2011
Reviewer: pisgah
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent machine
"Have had mine a few years now and it's still going strong. I live in an old house which has aluminium framed sash style windows.. a nightmare for condensation. But this little beauty sucks it all out of the atmosphere with ease. It usually lives in my utility room where it does the dual task of drying clothes and keeping the room condensation free. I am getting another for the other end of the house so I don't have to keep moving it around. All in all an excellent buy."
1 2 3 4 next>>