Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel

Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
30 of 39(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Review 1 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:23/01/2012
Reviewer: sony
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
look before you buy
"worth the money-- bq need to change their website about this . it has only got 1 light, not 2. also you will have fun trying to change the 1 light. got it home and guess what the light was broke"
Review 2 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:26/12/2011
Reviewer: MickeyHouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 years and still works
"I'm having a look as I need a new one for a new flat, but I bought this product previously 6 years ago and it's still working just fine. I can't really compare it as I haven't had a different one in my home, but I've been happy with it - no grease on my cupboards.
I didn't install it myself, so can't comment on that."
Review 3 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:05/12/2011
Reviewer: bertyboy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good buy
"very good product for the prise as good a many more expensive.chimney still fiddly to fit but then they all are"
Review 4 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:25/11/2011
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works well
"for the price iwould say its a good buy, easy to install
the problem started when i returned to BQ,for the assessories,pipe ,louvered outlet,all though i had a copy of parts,strangly none could be found at the price advertised.had to buy items separately more expensive of course still happy with hood though.
"
Review 5 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:19/11/2011
Reviewer: Benella
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chimney Hood
"Pleased with finished result
Had it a week & working correctly
But I found instructions poor. No indication you need to make a small hole for plug wire. given wrong filters which I bought separately.
On the whole good product for the money."
Review 6 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:20/10/2011
Reviewer: Evang
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
About the product
"lasted just for the warranty period, capacitor problem,can not find the right capacitor in uk,replacing it now is my next option."
Review 7 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:23/09/2011
Reviewer: Spikesdad
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good price for chimney hood
"Nice looking hood - instructions for fitting in picture form with no writing and not so easy to follow but we managed it in the end - there were a few minor scratches on the stainless steel and someone more finicky would have probably sent it back but we will live with it"
Review 8 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:11/09/2011
Reviewer: khoni
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS
"Cheapest around. Good value for money.Reserved online and Collected.when i got to the store it was near the tills.
Easy to install. Pack had all the rwal plug and screws needed to install as some reviewer suggested there was not.Does what it says on the Tin. For that kinda price, the performance of the fan is spot on. Fan is not too loud. Must say no plug with the fan wire. need to buy carbon filters separately. B&Q had them for £9.99 but the booklet says £20 to order from manufacturer. All in all preety good.
Could not tell much about reliability as i only had it for 2 weeks.
"
Review 9 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:27/08/2011
Reviewer: fodenman1
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"we bought this item 6 months ago and have just gor around to installing it first of all there are no fixing screws the chimney is fix with self tapping screws for which the very small screws are not supplied either had difficulty obtaining this very small size the flange to which the chimney fixes is to small to make the use of larger screws impossible"
Review 10 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:08/07/2011
Reviewer: Doddsy
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS
"Bought this for our holiday cottage, which is not used all year round, so this was good value for money."
Review 11 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:17/06/2011
Reviewer: windrush
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS
"bought this as replacement for my old and broken hygena same size hood that proved more expensive to repair than buying this new one, i found this one easy enough to install and almost matching the old one. i can't comment on overall performance and durability as i've just installed them last night. as with every extractor it has the normal fan noise. it has 3 speed levels for fan, one button to switch fan off and one button for light so its just the usual extractor. In my opinion this is a simple and decent budget extractor.
Just one moment is that the carbon filters that go on sides of motor are not included. They are apparently optional as they expect people to have vent to the outside and it offered to buy a pair from manufacturer for £19.99. Given that they need be replaced from time to time this was not good news for me. Luckily i found them at B&Q for arround £10 which is half that price so well done B&Q."
Review 12 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:09/06/2011
Reviewer: chefman
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a good buy
"Fair enough the product is cheap and looks OK but the extraction rate is very poor, condensation runs down the wall when in use. But it gets worse, extractor had a total breakdown after 2 weeks of use and is waiting a replacement motor."
Review 13 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:05/05/2011
Reviewer: RaphaelB
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value
"Great value at £59. Light is a bit dim; suggest replace bulb with an energy saving one giving more than 40w.
Easy to install. A bit underpowered I think; that's why its not too loud at top speed.
"
Review 14 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:30/04/2011
Reviewer: Jacky8018
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money
"I installed it this morning with no problem, although cutting the chimney (sheet metal) to the right length is still a pain. The machine is a bit tacky and much smaller than my previous Baumatic, although it claims that its extraction rate is up to 400 m3/hr which I doubt it. However, I shouldn't complain for the price I paid. The replacement motor (13 months old only) on my previous Baumatic was making awful grinding noise and I don't want to buy another Baumatic. But I note that with this one there is no earthing cable, which is a little surprise. Also there is only one light bulb of 40W which means it may not be bright enough. My wife will tell me later on!
This is the fourth one in less than 6 years, first one is a Hotpoint, followed by 2 Baumatic (including a replacement motor which lasted just 13 months!!!) I hope this will last longer than the others."
Review 15 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:09/04/2011
Reviewer: ruszky
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cooker hood chk60ss
"i have one of these in the house i rent , the fuse went and there where no instruction anywhere on the internet for this , so just for anyone in the same boat as me , the fuse is located in the funnel above the main hood body , i found this out after undoing every screw i could find on the unit ! hope this helps someone out ."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:08/04/2011
Reviewer: Delandres
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value for money but had to get an electrician to install it - quiet fan"
Review 17 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:17/03/2011
Reviewer: Doozer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Stee
"Very good value for money - bought at less than £50 with online offer vouchers (Mar 2011). A good sturdy chimney hood with good suction. The exyendable upright bit is a bit of a swine to fit and the instructions are not worth the paper they are printed on - especially when fitting for external extraction. A B&Q 'expert tried to sell me a £40+ kit for the flue but you only really need a flexi pipe, wall tube and a flap - cheaper to buy separate. Best put together with two people especailly the fiddly tie clips to attach the flexi pipe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:17/03/2011
Reviewer: DuwDuw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well what a price for a great product
"Now when they told me that if something looks to good to be true it usually isn't well for the price I paid for this Hood it was a steal. The quality of the Hood is as good as any of the others available at usually double the cost. A breeze to fit and looks really trendy in the new kitchen. In fact the guy who was with me when I bought it actually bought one for himself to replace his own.
Many thanks for a price that we expect from B&Q."
Review 19 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:15/03/2011
Reviewer: GoodDeal
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Designair CHK60SS cooker hood
"Good value piece of kit compared to some but don't expect top quality for that price or to find a charcoal filter for it becasue B&Q dont seem to have one in store or online."
Review 20 for Designair Chimney Hood 60cm CHK60SS Stainless Steel
Date:26/01/2011
Reviewer: WelwynDIYer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stylish and easy to fit - great value
"Installed this hood as part of a kitchen makeover and was very pleased with the result as it fitted neatly between two existing wall cupboards. The fitting instructions are a little unclear, so I just marked the fixing holes on the wall by poking a pencil through.
The hood needs a 120mm diameter vent pipe kit which is long enough to reach an outside wall. Alternatively optional charcoal filters are available at a cost if you want to recycle the air).
I would recommend wearing gloves when handling the hood as this will keep finger marks off the stainless steel surface and also protect you against the sharp edges.
At less than sixty pounds this has to be one of the 'best buys' for any kitchen project."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 2 next>>