Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm

This sturdy and practical aluminium loft ladder from Abru is a perfect loft-access solution, extending from two overlapping sections that can be affixed to the inside of the loft to be lowered down when access is needed. Measuring (H)163×(W)30.5cm, this ladder has all the components needed for DIY installation, including a universal stowing pole and comprehensive instructions – it also has “D” shaped rungs, for added comfort and security.
Average Customer Rating:
4.255 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
50 of 51(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Review 1 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:14/01/2011
Reviewer: TtheWeed
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the money....does what it says on the tin.
"Its a loft access ladder. You can use it, even as a complete novice DIYer, to access your loft. I have a "urgh" plastic bolt in, drop down + pull out, nasty loft hatch. It doesn't matter what its like, as long as its out of the way of the ladder. I didn't change anything, but i did take off the V bracket off the ladder, as mine wont lie flat in the attic it wont fit. This is because the height from access door surrounding beams (where you attach the pivotting hinge, and the floor boards of the attic is about 12 inches - i have very deep loft insulation and what seems like 2 floor layers of wood. The biggest problem i had was getting the screws in - beams are tough old things. Not for the weak wristed! But once the ladder is together, there really are only six screws to go in, if you have a bit of muscle and can use a phillips, you've no problem. I'm overweight, the ladder takes my weight so far, but it does have a lot of flex and bounce towards the top. I wouldn't fancy the full 23 stone on it. As a personal opinion, i wish i had paid a little more for the one with the side handles, might have made me feel a little safer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:29/10/2011
Reviewer: deedee66
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money !
"These loft ladders are a must if your'e just wanting a basic set for loft access , They are very easily installed with good instructions to keep you right .The ladders themselves are very well constructed but the fixing screws leave a lot to be desired ! very easy to shred the heads in my opinion , but not really a big deal if i'm honest, ( plenty more in my toolbox ) The actual operation of the ladders is a breeze , very easy to take out and put back in attic , also the drop down loft catch and hinges etc come supplied if you need to convert youre attic entrance which i didn't think would be supplied so that was a bit of a bonus ! All in all , i would not hesitate to buy another set and would recommend them to anyone ..,"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:01/01/2013
Reviewer: Fa1966
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and works great
"This product is light and easy to handle. It was fitted quickly and provides easy access now to the loft. I did not use the included loft hatch conversion bits (hinges and catch) but fitted a ready made insulated loft hatch made by glidevale which seals much better than a DIY conversion. The only issue I had was the the position of the lower stops were stated to be 310mm from bottom. I ended up moving these 30-40mm lower in order to ensure the ladder rested on the loft floor when closed.
I recommend this for light occasional use and ensure your weight is not above that specified otherwise I suspect it may not be strong enough."
Review 4 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:21/07/2010
Reviewer: Dan1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a ladder
"My partner and I work on a fairly tight budget (don't we all these days?) and as such we could not afford a lot for a loft ladder. We were a little sceptical about this product at first but have found that it is fine. It basically does exactly what it says on the tin - It's a ladder after all!! It is sturdy and reasonably easy to install and as long as you are sure about the measurements of your floor to loft then there should be no problems. I'm sure there are better ladders around (made of gold!) but, in context, you are only using it to get from the floor to your loft and this product does that so no complaints here."
Review 5 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:20/04/2012
Reviewer: StockyCop
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product
"I didn't purchase this product for its designed use - please pay attention to the size of your loft hatch opening before purchase. However, as a stand-to ladder into my loft, the product serves its purpose. The ladder is sturdy enough (for someone of muscular build like me at 110kgs), and feels secure enough during use. Metal fittings supplied seemed a little flimsy, but I have no experience of tensile strength to refer back to. Two segments in this ladder when compared with three also made it easier to manipulate the ladder. I'd recommend as fit for purpose, and easy to fit."
Review 6 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:02/01/2010
Reviewer: millwright
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
short ladder
"did my homework and measured my floor to loft height .was 104 in .the ladder is supposed to reach 106 in . fitting was easy but when i hung the ladder i found out that it was at least a foot too short ,i altered the stops and it just reached the floor .not the ideal situation but couldnt be bothered packing it all back together and trailing back to the store ...will buy a better ladder in the future .this one will do for the time being .also the slides are very stiff ..you need a chair to really pull the ladder down ."
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:25/08/2010
Reviewer: batmo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Abru 2 loft ladder
"Bought this ladder to fit in my daughters house. Very good fitting instructions, easy to follow. Having fitted it found that with the 'V' bar fitted the end of the ladder protruded below the line of the loft cover, also this item was very flimsy and my wife bent it on her first try. Easy option, removed it. Fitted the loft cover, ladder works really well. There are better ladders out there but this is easy to fit, easy to use, because after all your not going to use the thing every day."
Review 8 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:29/09/2010
Reviewer: Graeme82
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a Ladder!
"It's a 2 piece ladder. It has 2 safety securing bolts, one either side which clip into place when the ladder is extended.
Very simple to fit to your house. 6 screws and some common sense and you'll have this in place in no time!
Does exactly what it says on the tin - you pull it down and climb up into your loft!
And for the price it is a bargain!
It also comes with a kit to adapt your loft hatch should you choose to do this. I didn't and it still works perfectly.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:11/05/2013
Reviewer: ArtsenCrafts1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Overall a good product, does the job. My only criticism who be the instructions which also give details and parts for fitting a new loft hatch ( which you are not?????) so some people could find it a little confusing. Just stick to section B ladder section and ignore the rest. Basically it's 6 screws in the hinges and 4in the stowing V rod. Remember to lift the ladder up into the loft hole before you pivot it to store it Very easy to fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:28/03/2014
Reviewer: Nannie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase
"Should have bought a loft ladder when we first moved into this house, it would have save a lot of hassle. The ladder is sturdy and I can get into the loft myself instead of waiting for my husband, it was a joy to get in the attic and tidy it up!. The ladder is very easy to pull down and push back up even for me with my arthritic hands. Go for it and get one fitted before you have to struggle to get your Christmas decorations down!"
Review 11 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:07/01/2013
Reviewer: Tatesville
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Entering the loft space
"This is a lightweight loft ladder. No frills but oes the job nicely. Well ackaged, easily installed (just need a screwdriver) and it works perfectly. For a moment I was going to spend more on a ladder, but I considered the times I actually go ino the loft and thought better of it. Christmas money donated by crazy aunt is now well spent and I can send the wife to face the spiders now!
On line ordering/collection was great.
"
Review 12 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:19/10/2011
Reviewer: Nero
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money
"Great value and best choice if you can get away with a 2 section ladder.
Best read instructions a couple of times as they are not the best particularly if you do not want to dis-assemble at times.
You will probably need to put a batten between the joists to locate the V rod fixing bracket. I found that the batten had to be slightly lower than the top of the joists otherwise the loft door will not close."
Review 13 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:10/11/2010
Reviewer: salamander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good little ladder
"I had someone else convert my loft hatch and fit this but it only took them a couple of hours in total and it comes with all the kit needed to convert the hatch! I was surprised about that due to the cost. It is a little slim, but then neither me nor my partner are large people and it does clearly state on the packaging what the weight limit is. I have finally gotten rid of so many boxes from my house!"
Review 14 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:08/08/2010
Reviewer: cromwell4
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job
"My Dad fitted this loft ladder for me. The instructions are step by step and easy to follow. The ladder feels stable and solid when I climb up and down it. My only complaint is the v-shaped bar that holds the ladder steady when sliding it in and out of the loft jammed and got bent the first time I used it. I removed the bar and the ladder works well without it."
Review 15 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:16/01/2011
Reviewer: LAZZZZZZZZZZZZZZA
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pay a little more i wish i had
"Will do the job it`s made for but if you intend to use often, I would recomend you go for somthing a little stronger than this one.
And for safty reasons i belive the ladder should be at least 3 roungs above the exit floor.we have a low ceiling and ladder just comes level with loft floor
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:06/02/2014
Reviewer: HelpDeskManager
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value needs Fixing
"This loft ladder is really good value for money - BUT you need to understand that it does need fixing to the loft timbers in order to be sturdy. The fixing then allows the ladder to be stored in the loft - so you need to check you've got room and that your loft door opens the right way!"
Review 17 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:06/11/2010
Reviewer: bakermann
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good vaue
"dear sir
can i write i was extremely impressed with the overall quality of the ladders,the instrutions were clear and simple, however one word of caution to alter your loft hatch to a drop down type to accomadate ladder system , this takes time,my installation time 5+ hours .
bakermann.
"
Review 18 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:21/11/2010
Reviewer: Sadyia
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a bad purchase
"PRO: The ladder is very light weight and easy to pick up and use.
CON: But the instructions are not very clear as to what the extra parts are for and how to attach them to the ladder.
Over all this is the cheapiest ladder I found as yet and for the price it is good and does its job."
Review 19 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:26/09/2013
Reviewer: Basfox
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job
"If you need a loft ladder that is easy to install and you only use it very occasionally, then this product should fit the bill. Good value for money, as I purchased it at a discount (£10.00 off ) and shopped on a Wednesday when pensioners get a 10% discount with a Diamond Card."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Abru 2-Section Loft Ladder, (H)163 x (W)30.5cm
Date:25/09/2012
Reviewer: teresa48
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loft ladder
"love this laddder cant fix it to attic as door doesnt open out it slides across, but it tucks away nicely behind my landing mirror , lightweight to handle very sturdy , locks into place too giving extra security , vey good buy for money, very good value x"
1 2 3 next>>