Product Reviews

MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt

Double standard thickness polystyrene insulation laminated to traditional lining paper. Fire rated. Insulated and helps protect against internal condensation on walls which leads to mould growth. CFC Free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.359 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
11
26 of 39(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Review 1 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:01/06/2014
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible to work with
"Regardless of the paste I used, this stuff was difficult to stick to the wall and kept falling off. Had to use loads of paste and the end result was horrible. Unpaintable and creased and had to apply plain lining paper over it after drying effectively doubling the cost. When you unroll it, it still kinks and it is really easy to crack the polystyrene back. I ended up hanging it in small sections rather than full lengths. That was the only way it worked for me. Trust me, if your walls are really bad, use it but hang in short sections then paper over it to paint - or... get a plasterer in a plaster your walls!! If your walls are reasonable, just use Wall doctor..
I would NEVER use this stuff again!!
"
Review 2 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:25/05/2014
Reviewer: annabanana67
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
"Really easy product to use and no waste at all. Used to cover a fairly rough wall which now papered has a great smooth finish. I used regular wallpaper paste mixed as per instructions for polystyrene wall coverings and it all went up and stayed up brilliantly. I paid £19.98 for 2 rolls and I have achieved a great finish and added a little more insulation as it was an exterior wall."
Review 3 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:15/04/2014
Reviewer: DIYER69
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not Bad
"This is not a paste the wall item, as stated on the instructions. Wall and liner needed to be pasted and even then some pieces would not stick properly initially.
Other than this, the product is easy to apply and improves the look and feel of the walls it is applied to. Covers imperfections in most walls with ease.
Further wallpaper was applied easily onthe dried product. The paste the wall method worked well with the top paper being applied to the liner.
I will be using this product in other rooms in the future."
Review 4 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:13/04/2014
Reviewer: Masquerade13
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I hung this polystyrene Insulation yesterday and was extremely pleased with how easy it want up. I had cut the lengths I needed a week before I hung them and lay them out across the pasting table to straighten out the lengths, I think this helped greatly. I used ordinary paste see below recommended for pasting the wall. There was some slight cracking to one or two lengths when trying to pull it back off the wall to trim, but as I am wallpapering over it, it shouldn't show as it looked fine when stuck back on the wall. After hanging, it has to be left to dry out for 2 days before papering or painting.
I recommend Gran Deco silver Decadent Trail wallpaper its a lovely thick paper. Reminds me of a Parisian bedroom as it has a slightly distressed appearance. Very 'decadent', classy and rich and the silver catches the light glowing wonderfully. Very sumptuous! Looks better in real life than the listing photo, as it doesn't do it justice!
"
Review 5 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:23/03/2014
Reviewer: diylady52
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a nightmare!
"Bought this to cover a very uneven old wall. First off it wouldn't stay on without copious amounts of paste and even then I spent 15 minutes pressing it on, adding more paste. When I finally got some to stay in place I painted it (as it said the you could). As it said it was ready to paint and the whole of the painted surface bubbled up! Ended up removing what bit I had done! What a waste of a morning... Not sure how clear this pic will be."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:17/03/2014
Reviewer: teddytum2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great product definetly made a big diffrence to our bathroom extention which had not been insulated"
Review 7 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:28/01/2014
Reviewer: Justeann
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good purchase
"Am very pleased wit this product, it was very easy to put up and for my first attempt at wall papering turned out very well"
Review 8 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:17/01/2014
Reviewer: 494076
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to work with no issues hanging no cracking as mentioned by others but will need cross lining overhaul happy with product also no need for the expensive adhesive as a packet of £5 paste does the job"
Review 9 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:16/01/2014
Reviewer: reluctantdecorator6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAV lining paper thick
"Great job!!
takes a little getting used to handling.found it best to lay out pre cut lengths to relieve the rolled up stresses and when applying to right angle external corners,a few slight razors cuts to ease the bend and tac with pins until dry.Sounds a bit of bother but well worth the effort as it was either this or hack off plaster.
"
Review 10 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:15/01/2014
Reviewer: MissDIY232
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does it's job
"Does it's job, easy to put up and does the job of insulating, feels nice on the wall. We papered a plain paper over the top and then painted and it gave a fantastic finish."
Review 11 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:25/11/2013
Reviewer: H1969
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solved my problem!
"I read all the negative reviews about this product and then decided to ignore them. Very glad about that. Had a problem with main bedroom, walls were always so cold that condensation and mould would form quickly on them. Reluctant to board out room as can't really afford to lose any space in there. So, bought some rolls of this along with the rather pricey special adhesive (£30 per tub). Pasted the walls really thick, cut paper nearly to size before hanging each piece. Took me about 3 hours to do the 3 external walls, (1 @ 5metres long and 2 @ 3metres long). That was 2 weeks ago. Since then I have been delighted with the result. No more mould, room feels warmer. Will be papering over the top so hopefully won't show my wonky cutting. Overall, found this stuff an absolute cinch and for the money spent seems to be well worth every penny. Ps, I am a girl."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:25/10/2013
Reviewer: Rob64
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Stuff for Rough Walls
"Okay... I must admit I have really struggled hanging this stuff on a few bedroom walls in my house but after much perseverance I am very happy with the outcome.
The walls in question really needed a skim coat of plaster but this product has solved that need... It really does cover just about anything with ease just not easy to hang.
I have read many very poor reviews on this product prior to writing my own and can see exactly where many are coming from... Because it really is a frustrating paper to hang. It does crack on the polystyrene side but have to say... It has not ripped once for me on the lining paper side so maybe the quality has changed since other recent reviews.
I fully recommend this product to anyone looking to cover rough walls that need treatment for plaster or mould growth. As soon as I had papered my outside two walls with this paper the room instantly felt warmer.
Do the pros outway the cons?
For me and my rooms... Most definitely yes
Two tips... ONLY use the proper wallrock adhesive and use it liberally when hanging and... Let the lining paper dryout totally (48hrs) prior to applying either another lining paper or paint (probably need a little filler for the hairline creases caused when hanging)."
Review 13 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:21/09/2013
Reviewer: MBS01
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Product Ever Used
"This is without doubt the worst product I have ever had the misfortune to purchase and use. It is completely unfit for purpose.
Firstly, I am a very experienced tradesman with some forty years behind me. I am well used to hanging most types of wallpaper, including polystyrene.
This particular composite lining paper proved to be the most difficult to hang. Firstly, because it is rolled very tight and is thicker than normal, when you unroll and flatten it, it tends to crack the polystyrene and crease the surface lining paper. Next, it is almost impossible to hang without it pulling off the wall, particularly as you you get to the inner of the roll, it just wants to curl up all the time.
As there are now lots of cracks and creases on it, you will now have to rub it down and apply filler, prior to applying a top layer of lining paper. You will also find that it will pull away around the edges, requiring even more adhesive to hold it. It will take you about four/five times as long to actually hang this product and get it to an acceptable standard, as standard polystyrene and lining paper applied separately.
Finally, and here's the reason for the negative review, it's ten months since I applied it, and now the entire wall has delaminated. The factory applied layer of lining paper has delaminated from the polystyrene backing. The whole room has had to be redecorated!
DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:14/08/2013
Reviewer: Frazza
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could get rid of mould, life saviour.
"We have had an issue with mould and damp in the upstairs bedroom, mainly due to condensation forming on an external wall. We tried anti-mould paint but still had to bleach the wall or treat it with white vinegar especially between the headboard and the wall. We had used moisture traps, dehumidifier but still had an issue if the bed was too close to the wall.
We glued this on top of the paint last month and it has been amazing. First I can't understand how you would find this hard to put up, it is a lot easier than wallpaper... We used the wallrock paste after reading various reviews. Worked a treat, no creases, stayed in place, we let it dry for 1 week and wallpapered over it. The wallpaper looks great, no sign of condensation, mould, the wall is a lot warmer to the touch.
It does shrink slightly when dried and leaves a bigger gap that expected between sections but as we used wallpaper over, this was not an issue.
So pleased that our next task will be to cover polystyrene tiles on our ceiling lounge with this as they can't be removed, can't wait...
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:11/08/2013
Reviewer: andoally
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No need to plaster
"Decorating a bedroom that had an artex ceiling and wanted to make the ceiling smooth. Didn't want to have to remove the artex or re-plaster so used this lining paper. Gave a super smooth finish that was easy to apply & easy to paint with super results. No mess, just a very smooth, great looking ceiling. Was easier to apply to the ceiling than normal wallpaper with just a little help. Great product giving great results."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:02/06/2013
Reviewer: Cloud1
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mixed Review
"If you were thinking of just painting over this (the description says it is paintable) then you probably would be disappointed. The polystyrene backing does "crack" at the slightest touch, which leaves a crease or puckering on the lining paper side. That said, we have papered over this product with very good results and are very pleased with the outcome. Due to the many poor reviews, we decided not to buy the expensive paste recommended and just used Solvite extra strength wallpaper paste (just made it up thicker than usual) and worked perfectly well. So, overall, we would use it again, but only to wallpaper over (not paint)."
Review 17 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:13/04/2013
Reviewer: boohoo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have used unlined polystyrene in the past and I found that a lot easier to hang as it did not "split" as soon as you tried to manouver it onto the walls or "cut in"
Sorry will not use this again.
"
Review 18 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:07/04/2013
Reviewer: emmylou77
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brand New Walls
"My husband just decorated our boys room with this and the results were amazing. The walls were a bit tatty, cracked and lumpy, but after he'd finished they seemed almost clinically smooth and white. He normally swears and shouts when doing DIY, so I was surprised when he got on in near silence and finished in an afternoon with near perfect results. As a repair job the result is satisfying - its too early to tell about any insulation properties, but the wall does feel warmer to the touch."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 19 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:22/03/2013
Reviewer: ABCXYZ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just used this product and I cant fault it. to be honest. I would 100% recommend to anyone in the future as i was really happy with the product for the price it cost, it was a little tricky to hang but once i got the hang of it, it was fine and i'm really happy with the results. if you use the correct adhesive and follow the instructions you should have no problems! i had no choice but to follow them as i am no DIY expert."
Review 20 for MAV Red Label Insulating Lining Paper in Natural by Erfurt
Date:16/02/2013
Reviewer: haze1
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This product is not fit for purpose, a proffesional decorator struggled with it and in parts in looks terrible. . I waited for 5 years to have my bedroom decorated and paid a furtune, we followed all instructions but gaps and cracks keep appearing everyday I am very fed up."
1 2 next>>