Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

B&Q Floor Levelling Compound 18LEC25BQ 25kg

Self levelling compound for preparing uneven interior concrete floors prior to fitting carpet, tile, vinyl or laminate floor coverings.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
3 of 8(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for B&Q Floor Levelling Compound 18LEC25BQ 25kg
Review 1 for B&Q Floor Levelling Compound 18LEC25BQ 25kg
Date:09/09/2010
Reviewer: Guru
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its OK, but not too smooth
"I just used this product to level a bumpy kitchen floor before putting a laminate floor down.
I mixed it with 7 litres of water and it flowed well.
I used a plastering float to spread the mix around, but also used a long metal level to make sure that everything was horizontal across the full width of the floor.
When i went back to view it after drying the floor was pretty level, but did taper off slightly to the edges. It did have some high spots as well.
Generally it was pretty good - fine for putting a laminate floor on top, but probably not best if you wanted this as the finished floor.
"
Review 2 for B&Q Floor Levelling Compound 18LEC25BQ 25kg
Date:19/07/2010
Reviewer: AmatureDIY
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
"Ignore any instruction you need to add at least 7 ltrs of water not 5 to get this to flow. Does start to dry quickly so need this amount of water to get it to flow a bit and to stop it drying before you mix up the next batch. But unless you are not too worried about an absolute level finsh avoid,"
Review 3 for B&Q Floor Levelling Compound 18LEC25BQ 25kg
Date:19/07/2010
Reviewer: fish
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
worked for me
"Can't see the problem with this product - get the water right and mix with a drill and paddle to a creamy texture - pour on - then you must float to levellish then walk away - did just what it said on the package ! Drips may have to be scraped away later, but saved me a packet on expensive tile cement."
Review 4 for B&Q Floor Levelling Compound 18LEC25BQ 25kg
Date:07/03/2010
Reviewer: klaus
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid at all costs
"This product is utter rubbish. IT DOES NOT LEVEL.
I followed the instructions and found that the product does not flow. I'm left with humps and dips and trowel marks, and now have to go and buy a decent levelling compound to correct the mess.
If you have this, I suggest you try to add more water to the mix than the instructions suggest."
Review 5 for B&Q Floor Levelling Compound 18LEC25BQ 25kg
Date:05/03/2010
Reviewer: dabs
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
B&Q Floor Levelling Compound
"I used the compound to level 2.5m2 of a concrete floor. Mixed it as per instructions . However, it did not flow and was impossible to trowel to a reasonable level. In fact the floor finish was worse than what it was before. I started, Will not use again."
Review 6 for B&Q Floor Levelling Compound 18LEC25BQ 25kg
Date:25/01/2010
Reviewer: agatsb
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was better stuff before!!!
"I've just tried my first bag of this product and noticed the bag was a different colour to the previous "B & Q" own brand which I've used many of. I have to totally agree with Addo here, I couldn't write a better review. The 'Feb' product flowed beautifully and any trowel marks disappeared but this stuff is too thick, dries too quick and now I'm concerned cracks will start to appear.
Please B & Q bring back the older product into stock and forget this stuff, its rubbish in comparison.
"
Review 7 for B&Q Floor Levelling Compound 18LEC25BQ 25kg
Date:18/11/2009
Reviewer: urmstondiy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good
"Well strange isn't it! I found this self leveling stuff excellent. It flowed well and was very easy to trowel off to existing floor that was already level, to give an excellent feathered edge! This stuff can go off quickly but there's not much work has to be done by you, just help it spread out and trowel down the edges."
Review 8 for B&Q Floor Levelling Compound 18LEC25BQ 25kg
Date:03/08/2009
Reviewer: Addo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Caution--hard to use, unsuitable for the DIYer
"I am a reasonably handy DIYer.
I bought six bags of this product to level my dining room floor. The room had a clean concrete floor, but had a maximum level variation of about 10 mm.
My aim was to prepare it for laying a wood parquet floor.
I followed the instructions on the pack and poured the first lot, which went on OK, if a little thick. I mixed the second bag as quickly as possible, but when I poured it on, the first lot had already started to harden, so the second lot didn't combine but left a lip of about 2mm height.
Trowelling didn't help, because again, the product started to harden too quickly. I was left with trowel marks, which were too extensive to correct by spraying water. i.e. in my efforts to get the stuff to spread, I had to trowel it all over its surface.
This process continued throughout the six bags, so now I have a lumpy and uneven floor. Fortunately, I know some people who work for a concrete flooring firm, and they'll be correcting the job for me.
The product also did not flow into corners or behind radiator pipes, etc.
It would help if the product could be mixed much thinner, so it ran faster and further, and stayed wet longer, so a fresh mix flowed into one already poured, rather than just forming a lip.
Ideally, it would pour like water, mix readily with a lot already poured and set level and smooth. Even if it took several days to set, that would be fine. As long as you got a LEVEL floor. Not a lumpy one.(B&Q please note).
As it is, I think you need to be an experienced, skilled tradesman to be able to use it.
A very, very frustrating and difficult product, not at all suitable for DIY. In fact, a very bad product. My advice is to get an experienced tradesman in, and pay the extra."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.