Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction

The KA1000 55w Mouse from Black & Decker is ideal for a wide range of sanding and polishing applications. Its compact design gets you closer to the work surface for greater control. New and improved filter cassette design enables effective dust management and a cleaner working area. Quick fit sanding paper for faster sanding action and easier paper fitment. Contour attachments included for intricate sanding and polishing tasks.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
8
3 of 12(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Review 1 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:17/06/2012
Reviewer: Hedera
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor design
"We already own a Bosch sander with dust catcher compartment and had expected the Black and Decker system to be as good. Unfortunately the dust catching system was completely useless.
The sander is easy to use and the sheets easy to attach but the mess in the room was completely unacceptable. Only purchase if you intend to use the sander outside the house or in a workshop/shed/garage."
Review 2 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:26/10/2011
Reviewer: MrP1
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Purchase Ever
"Brought this a couple of weeks ago at my local Witney store and have only used it to sand down some skirting etc while decorating and it's broken allready. The plastic lugs that secure the base have sheared off rendering it useless... I thrown away the reciept and the box so I'm thinking the chances of a refund are slim."
Review 3 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:02/09/2011
Reviewer: mrslb333
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this!
"After I read the reviews I was very wary but I liked the idea of it and it was on offer so thought I'd give it a go.
I am really pleasantly surprised its brilliant. I'm in the middle of stripping gloss from a wooden staircase and have been through 6 pots of paint stripper, after an hour with this i'd achieved double what i did with the stripper!
The only downside I've found is that the off switch is in an awkward place (right at the front) so not brilliant if you need to get right in to tricky places.
"
Review 4 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:21/06/2011
Reviewer: divasd
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst purchase ever
"bought this to do a job the first one lasted about five minutes I was using the detail part on some glass doors it just fell apart took it back had another it lasted all of two minutes so if you want to use it as a detail sander forget it I would NOT RECOMEND this to anyone"
Review 5 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:23/04/2011
Reviewer: spazil
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poor
"bought 1, died after 2 hours, replaced no problem, next one fixings broke after 1 hour!!! DO NOT BUY. Concept excellent, reliability - not fit for purpose!"
Review 6 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:16/01/2011
Reviewer: RFrayling
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let down
"As per the previous review it broke after about 2 hours of use, again one of the 3 white supporting pegs snapped rendering it unusable due to the vibration. Shame as it was good value for money, worked well and was well made (apart from the bit that broke!)"
Review 7 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:18/10/2010
Reviewer: AmateurDIYer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not built to last
"I should have read the reviews before buying this product. After about 1 hour of use it broke. The flexible pins which hold the base to the body are made of some kind of plastic ( to allow the motion it uses to sand - I assume). However they are flimsy and soon broke rendering the machine useless. Browsing the web for a replacement I discovered three other reviews where the same thing had happened. Unless Black and Decker have changed the manufacturing process I would strongly recommend against this product. B and Q however happily gave a refund so it' s still a good place to shop."
Review 8 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:12/10/2010
Reviewer: CooferCat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty Good
"I bought one of these because I suspected my very cheap Challenge detail sander wasn't up to much. I was right - the KA1000 is *way* better than that old thing (which it should be at more than twice the price!). The paper plate on the KA1000 properly oscillates, and the unit doesn't vibrate too much, so you can get some good results without annoying the neighbours more than necessary.
I'm not sure this is a 'heavy use' device, but it's good for doing some smaller jobs around the house."
Review 9 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:02/10/2010
Reviewer: RunningH
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Suitable for light usage only
"I bought one of these before they were reduced in price (it was £39.99), for use in decorating preparation including sanding skirtings and other woodwork.
One advantage is that the tip of the sandpaper (which tends to wear most quickly) can be rotated, and each piece of sandpaper comes with two spare ‘tips’ thus prolonging the use of each piece.
It comes with a handy carry bag (though I can’t imagine how dusty it would become if it were used to store the sander!) and a selection of 8 sander sheets as well as some polishing sheets and sander sheets for the attachments. Don’t let that excite you – you may never get to use them all!
At first it seemed wonderful – I was comparing it with sanding several layers of paint to a smooth finish manually. Although it did not appear to complete the job any more quickly, it was certainly a lot easier.
The dust-collection component was adequate – although it did seem to slightly loosen away from the tool with the vibrations. It wasn’t a major issue though as I could just push it back periodically – and it was far better than having all of the dust it created blown around the room. You do have to empty the dust-collector very regularly, but again not having to do the sanding manually made up for this!
Unfortunately, I had not got more than a total few hours of use out of it when the diamond shape at the end (not the sandpaper, but the part to which you affix the sandpaper) began to spin around! It seemed the way in which this was attached to the tool became weakened by the vibrations and when turned on, would vibrate itself loose before beginning to turn around. Additionally, despite gentle use of the tool (i.e. no pressure being applied etc) I noticed there was also a small crack in the plastic part.
Unsure whether this was a problem specific to mine or a problem overall with this type of sander, I returned it to B&Q and exchanged it for another (same model).
The packaging was now slightly different, and the dust-collection component attached with a far more satisfying (and more secure) ‘click’, so I was quite optimistic my previous issues may have been resolved.
To my disappointment, this one was even worse! When placed flat onto a surface the ‘nose’ part of the sander did not actually sit flat on / meet the surface! It had been the only one available in the shop though and I had work to be doing so I decided to chance it and use it anyway. Unfortunately, the sandpaper did not stick well and would vibrate off. I took to holding the paper on until it met with the wood and trying to sand this way, but it made the job far less efficient and eventually the sandpaper did not stick on at all. Cleaning away the dust from the tool did not make any difference nor did trying a fresh piece of sandpaper.
Still having work to do, I decided to try out the attachments. I have shaped architraves around my doors and the attachments had been a large part of the attraction for me for this reason. Unfortunately, the sandpaper did not stick well to this either! Realising my (and the tool’s) defeat I realised it was time to return to B&Q – this time for a refund.
In B&Q and Black & Decker’s defence, B&Q were very good about replacing the product and latterly refunding my money – I was told that Black and Decker are happy for faulty or suspected purchases to be returned to them, so despite my poor experiences with Black & Decker on this occasion, this makes me feel happier giving Black & Decker another try in the future for other products (indeed I have more recently purchased a Black & Decker heat gun and have experienced – touch wood – no issues with this so far).
Provided the tool you purchase is sound (and level!) at this new reduced price, I would say it’s probably the tool for you if you only have light usage requirements. I don’t advise that it is suitiable for sanding walls or filler however, due to the type of dust this would create – it seems to be a tool for delicate use only."
Review 10 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:15/09/2010
Reviewer: sandingJeffP
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great little sander
"plus points:
Its works very well on wood, walls etc.
Its light weight enough to hold for a while.
Comes with different attachements and several grades of paper.
You can replace just the paper at the tip of the mouse, not the whole sheer (not sure if this is a standard feature on all mouse-sanders)
Negative points:
I found the attachment for curved sanding a little hard to use.
Overall its great, much better than the my 6 year old sander-mouse."
Review 11 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:04/05/2010
Reviewer: MartyB
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Quality
"Only on second use it broke! less than a couple of hours and one of the housing pins inside snapped. Adapters are also VERY annoying as they ping off and don't stay seated especially when they get warm! Avoid at all costs.
Now have a Perfomance Power detail sander instead (PDS260) which is awesome. Nice and powerful, sturdy, reliable and much more reasonably priced!"
Response from B&Q:By Kristiandiy.com22/06/2010
Hello,

Thank you for your response. We apologise for any inconvenience encountered whilst using this product. As a direct result we have contacted Black & Decker about this and they would like to say the following:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the Black & Decker KA1000-GB Mouse Sander. We are always grateful to receive customer feedback. While we take every negative review we receive very seriously, it is very rare for any our products to suffer from a technical fault.

Please be reassured that these rare and isolated faults represent a very small proportion of the total volume of Mouse Sanders we sell. Nevertheless, we take product quality very seriously so please contact our dedicated technical helpline number on 01753 567055. Please accept our apologies and thank you once again for your feedback.

We hope this helps. Thank you for visiting diy.com - we hope you come back soon.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 55w Mouse sander with dust extraction
Date:21/02/2010
Reviewer: Crash
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 sanders in 1 day
"Buy at your own risk. The first one had parts missing and box had been resealed.....Unit replaced....no problem....Second sander started to vibrate badly after 30 minutes and only using 2 pads and on examining found rear mounts of the pad had broken or come apart. Some what disapointed with the brand as its not what Black and Dekker used to be like"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.