Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900

Lawnraker with jet collection for effective lift and collection of thatch and moss. Complete with a range of 4 raking heights to suit different seasons and the large 50L collection box also compacts for compact storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Review 1 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:01/10/2013
Reviewer: Dragonck
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product
"It took only a short time to put the lawn raker together and tackle the large lawn. However I hadn't put the collection box on correctly. After a short session on our lower lawn I checked for thatch and moss in the collection box and seeing next to nothing, my first thought was that the product was useless. Well it turned out to be me who was useless!! Make sure you lift the flap over the top of the box and wow, will you be amazed at how much rubbish you will collect in no time at all. Having only moved in recently we noticed our lawn had been neglected over the years from a previous owner and we decided to tackle the thick lush lawn of moss and thatch. The collection box does fill up quickly if you have a lot of moss in your lawn but that just shows how good this product is.
Although our lawn is now looking a bit bare in places, this tool will certainly improve the lawn in the long term. I definitely would recommend this product. The attached photo shows what has come from the lawn in one session.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:29/05/2013
Reviewer: Dustyski
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Electric Lawn Raker
"The Bosch ALR 900 Lawn rake is a replacement for my 30 yr old faithful Black&Decker.
I am very pleased so far (only used it once) it is light and easy to handle and did a very good job of getting out the dead moss etc. and collected it up well.
"
Review 3 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:08/05/2013
Reviewer: DeputyD
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look no further!
"Efficient, well-designed, powerful, well-built, and - importantly - does the job really well. Impressed with this very useful bit of kit (I switched it on to do a 'test strip' but didn't stop until I'd done the whole lawn!) Yes, the collection box does fill up quickly, as everyone always moans about with every lawn rake on the market - but that's because IT'S WORKING PROPERLY. Even this works well - the collection box able to be removed/replaced to the front or back of the handle uprights, so is easy to do (unlike others that can be fiddly). Very easy to assemble, understand and use, doesn't go OTT on complicated instructions etc. Yes, 5m of additional cable would have made sense, but makes no difference if you're using an extension lead anyway. Hard to beat for this kind of money I would have thought. (Tip: don't try to remove ALL the moss in one go - unless you're after the 'Gobi Desert-look'!)"
Review 4 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:02/05/2013
Reviewer: Yorkie426
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Buy
"Satisfied with this lawnraker .I have used twice in a week and am now awaiting lawn improvement. Looks promising ,and a lot of thatch removed."
Review 5 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:05/04/2013
Reviewer: JohnBoy2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first Lawn raker
"A sore back prompted me to buy this lawn raker. The lawns where looking very sad after a wet summer and a long cold winter and needed a good seeing too (don't we all). I used the lawn raker on setting number 3 for the first go. It looked liked it had done nothing but on inspection of the collector it was full. It will need another session but give how cold it's been I need to wait till warmer weather. Closer inspection shows a big difference. The assembly of the collector was a bit fiddly but otherwise it's pretty easy. The lawns are much better, pity I can't say the same for my back but using this tool didn't make it any worse, Doing it manually would have put me on my back for a few days, very easy and effortless to use."
Review 6 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:14/10/2012
Reviewer: EMAPhil
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply Superb
"I have an 80x30ft lawn that has not been really raked for many years and has several permanently shady spots that grow moss. I did 2 passes with the raker. Lifted off 7 boxes of thatch and moss.
The lawn loooked really bad for a week but already is beginning to recover. I will repeat again in the spring.
The jet collection worked really well on a slightly wet lawn and the collection box filled properly to the brim.
Only niggle is that the lead could be a few metres longer."
Review 7 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:15/09/2012
Reviewer: adediy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice product
"The lawnraker did exactly what we expected, and the adjustable height was very useful. It was very effective at removing dead material from the lawn."
Review 8 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:29/06/2012
Reviewer: SpongeMoss
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Replacement for Bosch AMR32F
"Replaced a Bosch AMR32F. The new ALR 900 is a much better machine. Collects all the moss & thatch effectively, no left overs like the old one. I can now do half the lawn (20m2 approx half size) before needing to empty the 50 litre collector, which has been well compacted. The old AMR would do a strip if I was lucky as it's motor was not powerful enough to throw the moss forward into it's collector.
Downside; cable needs to be longer - this is shorter than the old AMR and the ALR's collector is slightly fiddly to remove & attach correctly on each emptying.
Also, the UK version is hard wired so that you cannot connect a longer lead to the machine, an extension lead is required - unless you are brave & qualified enough to replace it with a connector type attachment. (probably nullifies the guarantee.)
Easy to put together - but watch out for the cable holders between the hand switch & the motor down the handle, these are not the best in the world.
If you have never used an electric scarifier on your lawn before; buy one, you will wish you had one earlier.
Overall an effective machine for medium sized domestic lawns.
"
Review 9 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:18/06/2012
Reviewer: Luby
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Replacement for very old lawnraker.
"Very pleased with the lawnraker. Set it at number 3 which seemed to do the job well, but found if I stopped for a few seconds the machine carried on raking and I had a couple of bare patches! We have trees in the lawn so a longer cable would have been useful, and even better would be the facility to unplug at the handle end so I didn't end up in such a tangle going round the trees. It didn't seem to make those coarse flat grasses stand up as well as the old machine but generally did a good job."
Review 10 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:09/06/2012
Reviewer: DannyLongLegs
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value and quality product
"Purchased 1 today as lawn was looking quite brown in places. Easy to set up and use. Did the job really well extracting loads of dead grass from the lawn.
I think the collection thing at 50 litres capacity is pretty generous given the size of the machine.
Overall a really easy to use, effective, good value product"
Review 11 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:13/04/2012
Reviewer: Doppod
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ideal Lawnrake
"Faced with a lawn maintenance bill of £140.00 to remove moss and thatch, I decided to invest in a lawnraker for less than that cost. Bosche was an obvious choice and it was easy to assemble and does the job admirably on our front and rear creatively shaped lawns. The front took about an hour and the rear an hour and a half - mainly because the collecting box had a lot to handle and needed emptying very often. The only negative is that the collecting box is a bit fiddly to fit back on. Apart from that, excellent."
Review 12 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:09/04/2012
Reviewer: BillA
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid overall improvement
"A welcome improvement to older equivalent B&D and qualcast models. The more powerful and better designed closed collection box are a major improvement and prevents moss flying out of the box or having to be forced back into an open box in windy conditions. Works well albeit cable could have been longer. Highly recommended."
Review 13 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:28/03/2012
Reviewer: Bibsta
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOSCH LAWNRAKER ALR900
"Having purchased this Bosch Lawnraker just over a week ago and having used it on my lawns to the front and back of my house a couple of times, it has proved to be a superb piece of gardening equipment. The removal of the undergrowth was pretty effortless - set at a high setting initially was adequate to remove an incredible amount of dead grass. Easy to assemble and was ready to go almost straight out of the box within about 10-15 minutes. Only negative comment that can be made is that the type of cable fitted to the lawnraker is not very flexible, unlike my Flymo mower cable, and this has a tendancy to get tangled. Taking everything into consideration - excellent product and highly recommended. The product reviews from other internet sites on this lawnraker indicated that this Bosch equipment is the most reliable. Similar product from Flymo had poor reviews and was not recommended by some reviewers. Great service from B&Q with ring and reserve for collection in store."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:25/03/2012
Reviewer: makroeco
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
"Was easy to assemble and worked remarkably well. Took a whole wheelie bin worth of moss from my average-sized lawn. It is easy to use and light to push, trouble was it was so effective that I had to keep emptying the collection box. I reccomend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:13/03/2012
Reviewer: HampshireMike
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent lawn rake and good value
"Bought this to replace old Qualcast 35.
Pros:-
collection system pretty effective, air draught blows it all into the box (unlike hopper machines that can spray debris everywhere);
machine light and manoeuvrable;
4 height settings, from gouging the soil to picking off leaves;
900W motor seems more powerful than Qualcast's 1250W - modern motor technology;
box made in 2 halves clips together, unclipped and reversed it fits over the machine for storage;
similarly handle bolts designed so you can loosen the knobs and it folds down in a Z over the top (though the big switch gets in the way a bit).
Cons:-
the effective raked width is about 30cms allowing a slight overlap;
fewer spring tines than the Qualcast and less offset so it tends to cut more noticeable grooves;
wheels front and back in-line so flattens the grass, and tines can dig in if a wheel goes into a hollow, back roller would be better;
I suspect there's a lot of debris collecting inside e.g. the fan but there's no apparent method to dismantle and clean (I need to undo a few screws and see where I get to).
Overall - vast improvement over my old rake and very good, made raking out my lawn much less of a chore.
NB from what I've seen the 1100 is not just a more powerful version of the same thing, it has blades on the roller so it's a scarifier NOT a rake.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:22/02/2012
Reviewer: Sailorblue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well Satisfied
"I recently purchased the Bosch Lawnraker ALR 900.
B&Q showed efficiency in having this product ready for collection , so well done Dundee.
The lawnraker does the job well."
Review 17 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:22/05/2011
Reviewer: johnb6020
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
value for money
"Worth the price.
Will be interested to see how long it lasts though.
Not as sturdily built as I would expect from Bosch.
Prepared to be surprised though and find that it does last a long time
"
Review 18 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:21/05/2011
Reviewer: bluekitty
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy!
"Used this item for the 1st time today, part of my garden looks a bit bald at present due to the amount of moss it had collected. Emptied moss box 5 times and have only completed a quarter of the garden. I will have to wait until next week to continue using it, as I have ran out of space in my green wheelie bin due to mowing the lawn before hand. Box seems to fills up pretty quickly but collects the moss perfectly. This is a great item for anyone that gets exhausted quickly like myself and makes raking and looking after your lawn a 100 times easier. Wish I had of bought one years ago!"
Review 19 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:11/05/2011
Reviewer: Skyfire
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent buy!
"Have only used this once so far but it has cleared a lot of the moss from my lawn already. I reckon on 3 or maybe 4 uses per season to keep the moss in check. I used to attempt to rake it out by hand but it was hard work and often never got completed each season."
Review 20 for Bosch Electric Lawnraker ALR 900
Date:11/04/2011
Reviewer: madnorthernbird
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money
"The moss in my lawn was inches thick. At first I didn't think the rake would do the job and I had to go over the lawn a couple of times, but I was pleased with the result and it has done an excellent job in removing just about all of the moss and without damaging the grass. I found it was easy to assemble and the handle folds for easy storage. It holds quite a lot of moss too before you have to empty it. I would recommend this to anyone with a major moss problem!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>