Product Reviews

Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak

An advanced, quick drying shed and fence treatment that will protect all rough sawn garden timber from the rigours of the weather with fade-resistant colour in just one coat. Safe for plants and pets.
Average Customer Rating:
2.333 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
4 of 12(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Review 1 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:27/06/2014
Reviewer: Disopointeddan
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No good in the rain
"The colour of the product was almost orange,but I gave it a go, ended up drying nice, although two coats were needed.
Then it rained a few days later and the paint started to wash away and show through the old colour.
Absolutely a waste of money- don't waste your time. So disappointed even though it's price is cheap.
"
Review 2 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:18/06/2014
Reviewer: Raptor
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Colour
"This is not a true representation of its true color
as the actual color is a lot lighter,. For this color you should try the dark oak.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:05/05/2014
Reviewer: peds
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst product ever
"Paint like water ,colour orange overall totally disappointed. Does not do what it says on the tin.2 coats still not covered. Would prefer not to give it one star."
Review 4 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:24/08/2013
Reviewer: Barleymow
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It worked for me
"Never in a month of Sundays would I describe this as 'Medium Oak'. BUT it did match the colour of my aged fence panels particularly where sun and time had not faded the original colour. Restored the panels to their original glory. The actual colour is more of a muted cedar red and bears no relation to that on either the tin or the samples on display. I also have had the same problem with Cuprinol and Ronseal Woodstain. Why can't these companies follow Dulux etc. and supply samples at modest cost to see if its what you want?"
Review 5 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:05/06/2013
Reviewer: LJB1
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of Time
"I bought a tub of Ronseal One coat thinking it would take a maximum of 2 coats but after 4 coats I can still see the original colour on our fence. A WASTE OF MONEY, DONT BUY THIS PRODUCT."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:11/05/2013
Reviewer: Summersunshine
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AWFUL!!!
"I have 12 panels of fence which took me two days to paint with TWO coats...but it still looks exactly the same as before!! 5 days later it rains and the whole lot washes off, this product shouldn't even be on the shelves. I wouldn't even give it one star if I had a choice."
Review 7 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:24/04/2013
Reviewer: SMUK
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not what it says on the tin...
"We have a small-ish garden with only 5 fence panels on each side and a gate at the end. So I picked up a tub of this paint and read the label thinking one coat should give me enough for the whole garden. Wrong. The colour of the paint is actually very different to those shown on the tub and the pics on the website. Medium Oak comes out as a much more orange colour and is nowhere near as dark as you would expect. That said, we still liked the colour even though the packaging is misleading so just something to be aware of. So we set about painting the fence and after just one panel it was clear that 'one coat' was not going to be enough. We eneded up having to go over each panel 3 times to get a solid colour as the fence just seemed to suck up the paint. Needless to say that we were back in store buying a second tub that same weekend to get the job finished. Overall a good product that has left a good finish, but be aware that the colour is totally different, it will take more than one coat which will mean you need more paint and way more time and effort. But the fence seems well sealed, we had a small spell of rain and had no drips or runs in the paint so fingers crossed it will last a few years now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:16/01/2013
Reviewer: dicjh
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ronseal One Coat
I ordered this via the pre-order process and then went immediately to the local store. The product was exactle as it said, very easy to apply and does the job
"
Review 9 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:08/06/2012
Reviewer: suziquattro
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money and effort
"Bought a large tub and did the summerhouse and fencing.3 days later it rained and completely washed off the summerhouse.Not a trace of it left.
Complained to Ronseal and sent a sample to them.
I coated the summerhouse again during the hot spell at the end of May.5 days later and rain.You could smear it off with your finger and it ran down the windows.
Ronseal said that there is no problem with the sample.If this is production quality then they obviously have a low standard.
Wouldn't use any Ronseal product again.
"
Review 10 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:10/05/2012
Reviewer: Anon61
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ronseal Three Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
"I bought this fence treatment as I was looking to paint a new fence with as little fuss and time as possible. I've used one coat paints before and found that they do what they state on the tin - not this one!
Once the first coat had dried it was more orange than medium oak. I decided to give it a second coat and it dried to a warm reddish brown - nice enough but not medium oak. Rather than move on to the rest of the fence I applied one more coat, and low and behold it's medium oak in colour!
Ronseal really should consider renaming this fence treatment as it's definitely not "One Coat".
"
Review 11 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:03/09/2010
Reviewer: moriarty
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ronseal one coat
"i've used it on a very old garage & fence and they look super. bit sloppy to use and goes on orange but it has dried to a warm brown. unfortunately my supplier has run out of it so i'm hoping b&q won't let me down so i can paint the last two border fences."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Ronseal One Coat Fencelife Medium Oak
Date:29/08/2009
Reviewer: Skysinger
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Colour blind?
"If you want your fence look like a tortoishell cat use this. The colour bears no resemblance to the chart or the illustration on the label. Even on fresh timber it produces an orange result which is why users rush out to cover it with Dark Oak which is probably why B&Q ran out of stock of that variety!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.