Product Reviews

Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red

Transform your home with Colours Matt for interior walls and ceilings. This smooth Matt finish has low light reflectance and can disguise surface imperfections. It is water based and virtually odour free, so it is easy and pleasant to use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
6 of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red
Review 1 for Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red
Date:27/09/2013
Reviewer: Chacey
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poor Product
"This is as very a poor example of a matt emulsion as you will ever buy. It took four coats to adequately cover aver a light purple wall. I bought a 5l tub thinking this would be plenty and ended up using the whole tub! Hardly value for money as the equivalent amount to cover my area in Crown would have been £4 cheaper!!
The roller would not wash clean in boiling water let alone warm water (as recommended). The amount of bad reviews of this product begs the question as to why B&Q have not done something to improve its quality. I only wish we'd read the reviews before we purchased it.
"
Review 2 for Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red
Date:23/11/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great colour
"Fabulous british red colour that looks fabulous on my feature wall now. Aside from the fact that I could not order for delivery which caused me problems the only bad thing I can say about the paint was that over magnolia it took four coats. Very happy with the final result though would not buy paint from this range again."
Review 3 for Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red
Date:19/10/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a good experience - poor quality paint
"Really liked the colour of this paint but after 3 coats it has still failed to cover the paint underneath. Paint has run out, as has my patience, so bought Dulux which covered well first time! Walls underneath were cream and red so very unexpected that such a rich colour did not cover cream element underneath."
Review 4 for Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red
Date:04/06/2012
Reviewer: Stevee
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bad quality paint
"The quality of this paint is atrocious, it took 4 coats to cover a Cream coloured wall, The paint get marked by the slightest touch and as a result I have hand and finger marks over one wall. When I tried to clean the marks off, the water completely stained the paint and the paint itself began to 'wipe' of the wall. Not at all happy with the quality!"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red
Date:15/05/2012
Reviewer: Marty03
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inspiring!
"To start off with, the paint looks nothing like the picture on the website. I spotted it in the B&Q shop and saw the paint in a see through tin, loved the look of it, a bright bloody red.
However once it went on the wall, it turned a little bit darker but still a gorgeous colour, i love it! It's even better in the natural light shining on it.
Only needed 2 coats to do the job. A good buy as at the time i bought it two 2.5l tins for £20."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red
Date:17/03/2011
Reviewer: ASH1105
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money
"I bought a 5L tin of B&Q colours classic red paint, which covered my walls beautifully - what a lovely finish and only needed 1 coat - great value for money"
Review 7 for Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red
Date:18/02/2011
Reviewer: decor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
red and hot
"love this paint and the deepness of the colour brill"
 
My Product Recommendations
Arthouse Bamboo Wallpaper Chocolate (L) 10m
 
 
 
Flores Bold Flower Cylinder Shade Beige
 
 
 
Colours Plains Rug Brown (W)120 x (L)60cm
 
 
 
B&Q Tab Top Unlined Curtains Chocolate
 
 
 
 
 
Review 8 for Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red
Date:06/11/2010
Reviewer: jvd2010
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"this is a good paint - we did need to put three coats on though and that was just over magnolia!!! but otherwise it has turned out very nice,"
Review 9 for Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red
Date:03/09/2010
Reviewer: Tinkerbell7
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
"This paint was fantastic. The coverage was amazing. Covered a previously blue wall in one even coat. Goregous shade of red. Would definitely use again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Colours by B&Q Matt Emulsion Classic Red
Date:28/02/2010
Reviewer: Viper16
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good.
"I chose 2 red testers i wanted to sample. 2 were Crown and 1 B&Q Colours. I chose the B&Q paint over the Crown and am very happy with it. Red always needs more than 2 coats of paint, but it has covered really well and has a really nice finish to it. I would recommend this product."