Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

B&Q Textured Paint Pure White

Heavy Matt texture coating for walls and ceilings. A tough and flexible decorative finish that fills and covers hairline cracks and surface imperfections.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for B&Q Textured Paint Pure White
Review 1 for B&Q Textured Paint Pure White
Date:13/10/2012
Reviewer: LittlePumpkin
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Stuff
"Our kitchen walls were in a bit of a state and were masking the shoddy diy "expertise" of the previous resident that they had hidden behind wallpaper. After stripping and sanding and filling all with a thought in the back of the mind that we may need to have the walls skimmed, there was a brainwave regarding textured paint. After reading reviews for this stuff we decided to give it a go and have to say yes it is a little messy and you need to allow yourself plenty of time to do a good job but it is well worth it. The result is that only we now know were the cracks, gouges, lumps and bumps were. Well done B&Q amazing product Thank you."
Review 2 for B&Q Textured Paint Pure White
Date:08/02/2012
Reviewer: Alij
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good Product
"As others have said it does what is says on the tin. It is messy to use, but one would suspect this as it contains bits. Advice on applying do not overwork the area, use short strokes and keep stirring the product every 10 mins to keep the bits suspended in the paint. I think B&Q should change the instructions to include this. Best stirred with a large wooden spoon, which are readily available, but should not be used in the kitchen afterwards!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for B&Q Textured Paint Pure White
Date:03/02/2012
Reviewer: cookeertf
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pricey
"does exactly what it says on the tin - used it loads of times - but everytime I buy some the price has gone up - As with everything at B&Q!!!!"
Review 4 for B&Q Textured Paint Pure White
Date:01/02/2012
Reviewer: Rach74
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Messy nightmare!
"Have generally all round badly plastered walls in my house that were hidden under lining paper before we moved in. Bear that in mind if you're viewing properties to buy. Over the years I've shed blood, sweat and tears with the steamer, scraper, plenty of filler and rolls of sand paper trying to get the walls to look at least half decent before re-painting. If I can avoid wallpapering I will as it's just too much hassle applying and removing barr say one feature wall everytime one wishe's to decorate. If I could afford a plasterer I would but I'm on a budget these days and have learnt my lesson big time as have most not to bother attempting with a d.i.y plaster home kit.
I came across this textured paint for the first time a few weeks ago online in the midst of sanding down the shocking walls of my bedroom- the last room to still have the lining paper up. Even though it had mainly positive reviews I still ummed and ahhed-wouldn't you if you couldn't stand the similar artexed ceilings in your house and had already had to repair damp cracked patches on one due to a flood from the bathroom which wasn't an easy task in itself?
I'm still not sure why I decided to bite the bullet and buy it?- sucker for positive reviews I guess..but I did and regret it. It was stirred properly and even applied thickly and slowly in short smooth strokes in one way as per the directions. After doing approx a wall and a half with a roller I gave up. The mess it was creating was unbelievable. I and everywhere around me looked like it had been hailed on by prickly artexed blobs- so far messier than your average emulsion. If that were just it I might not have got so disinhearted but even after applying correctly it didn't seem to go on well leaving patchy areas looking a lot smoother inbetween areas that did look okay. To top it off after letting that bit dry I noticed it didn't even cover some of the flaws that well and artexed nobbly bits fell off the walls just by running your hand along. To do anymore let alone having to buy yet another tub to do a second coat I would of been a complete glutton for punishment.
I am now back to square one almost in having to sand paper down what I have done. Forget textured wall paints- I'd rather just put up with smoother bog standard coloured emulsion showing the various dents and bumps. It may not look perfect but it's not going to look any worse than patchy artexed walls at the end of the day which will be a pain to paint or smooth over and flake off if you brush past it with anything."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for B&Q Textured Paint Pure White
Date:23/11/2011
Reviewer: elliedoll
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT STUFF!!
"I bought this paint after reading the reviews about it.I thought it would cover up cracks and an uneven wall.i was not disappointed it dosnt take any special skills to apply.it has made a really good job and will look even better when it has been painted.It has saved me a fortune,because of the state of my walls i would have needed a plasterer but not now thanks to this brilliant product.Also i cant emphasize enough on how easy it is to use!!"
Review 6 for B&Q Textured Paint Pure White
Date:21/02/2011
Reviewer: sanmar63
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing stuff!!!
"I so, so wish that i had discovered this paint years ago, it's saved me a fortune!
Our walls were in a terrible state after the wallpaper was stripped off - We decided that we'd either have to have them re-plastered or line them before we re-papered,
After reading the comments on here, we decided we had nothing to lose and gave this paint a go - It's BRILLIANT!! Its easy to brush on, it doesn't drip and the walls look like they're from a different house!! So, NO wallpapering, NO plastering and certainly no hassle. WOOHOO!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for B&Q Textured Paint Pure White
Date:25/08/2010
Reviewer: sallyd
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fab
"Having taken polystyrene ceiling tiles down in our kitchen, I was left with very prominent globules of hard gluey stuff which would not scrape off or even sand down effectively. Also cracks on the ceiling which gave clues as to why the previous owners had put the tiles up in the first place. My hand was hovering over the phone to contact a plasterer to come and artex over it for us, but when i saw it was 9.30pm i checked this site instead. I was skeptical, as it says 'minor flaws', and i don't think our flaws were what most would call minor, but it is brilliant stuff. A 5 litre tin has done a ceiling 9ft by 8ft effectively with almost half the can left over. I had to use a 'stipple' effect with the brush, but the bumps and things are totally concealed by it. An outlay of £19 has effectively saved us £200 or however much a plasterer would've charged, plus a load of hassle."
Review 8 for B&Q Textured Paint Pure White
Date:04/03/2010
Reviewer: tugsale
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Damaged wall
"I had damages wall cracks,indents,gouges.This product was excellent,it took 2 coats but gave me new wall.Excellent product easy to use not messy and gives good finish."
Review 9 for B&Q Textured Paint Pure White
Date:17/09/2009
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
b n q textured paint
"just knocked down a wll in my bedroom to make it bigger put new gyproc up and tried plastering didnt turn out to good this paint was a like saver it covers a multitude of sins the hole 10 litres done my room and even can be applied to wallpaper best paint ever"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for B&Q Textured Paint Pure White
Date:01/08/2009
Reviewer: 1noodle
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst paint ever
"i bought this paint to cover a flaw on a wall in my daughters bedroom, what a mistake! it is just awful to apply, i tried a roller and a brush and even a combination of the two.it took me 3 hours to get a passable result and i used a quarter of the container, it did not cover the flaw very well and even where the wall is perfect it looks awful. a very expensive mistake as i now have to sand the wall and start again."