Product Reviews

Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L

An ornamental bark recommended for both weed and moisture control. For optimum weed control the bark should be laid at a depth of 50mm (2 inches). At this rate of application, one pack is required for every 2 square metres.
Average Customer Rating:
3.826 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
10
36 of 46(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Review 1 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:24/07/2014
Reviewer: Mikdav
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product
"I have bought about 30 bags of this product over the last 4 years and have found it to be an excellent product for garden borders. I specifically use it to put directly onto soil as a mulch to suppress weed growth, retain soil moisture and to keep our dogs feet clean whilst roaming the garden.
The consistency is not quite as small and rounded as the picture but it is not large and course as some others products. The moisture content varies and some bags look quite wet with a white appearance on the chippings. This does not matter and will soon disappear when spread on the garden."
Review 2 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:19/07/2014
Reviewer: Snozzleman
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality, does the job!
"Good even chip size. Looks and smells good when laid."
Review 3 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:10/07/2014
Reviewer: RetiredActionMan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Very Good Purchase
"Tried to buy bark in bulk but could not find anyone local to me in Lancashire to deliver. So resorted to the B&Q's 4 for 3 offer which is very good value. Only disappointment is I waited for a Wednesday to get it as I thought I would get the 10% off with my old f--ts club card, but no it does not apply to already reduced items. That aside, the product is very good, but you need a strong back as the bags are very heavy to handle and it smells a bit of bananas until it has been down for a while. Only time will tell if it cuts down the weed growth and helps my bad back by not having as much weeding to do!"
Review 4 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:02/07/2014
Reviewer: Tina66
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value
"Good ground coverage and the 4 for 3 makes it great value"
Review 5 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:23/05/2014
Reviewer: bluesky1972
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not small chipped bark!
"Product is nothing like that portrayed in picture. Not remotely small chipped. Far to big for pots. Great waste of time when you cant trust product description."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:29/04/2014
Reviewer: nursey60
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great
"Lovely, great bark, no problems as others have stated.
wish I had brought more.
"
Review 7 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:17/04/2014
Reviewer: Tars
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bargain
"Covers a great deal of ground, well packed and when you get 4 for the price of 3 even better. One small word of warning, these bags are extremely heavy which I didn't realise when I went to collect them, added bonus of a workout! :0)"
Review 8 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:12/04/2014
Reviewer: N0rb3rt
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Verve have a nerve
"This ornamental bark is fantastic as long as you want something that doesn't look anything like what's on the packaging or as described. If you want bark and bits of wood buy this.
Silly me understood that by buying something described as ornamental bark that I would be sold 4 bags of ornamental bark and not 4 bags of random stuff off a tree trunk.
I would've taken it back but unfortunately had spread my wood chips in the garden before it dawned on me what I'd been sold. Luckily, I can avoid this bit of the garden for the next five years and will have some half decent compost by then."
Review 9 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:12/04/2014
Reviewer: HeyMicky
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Couldn't ask for more!
I have taken a rather tired part of the garden, and brought it up to scratch using this stuff, in just a few hours. Awesome results, and the smell is brilliant.
Picture attached for stage 1 :)
Stage 2 to come..."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:02/04/2014
Reviewer: Grumpyone
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not as shown on bag
"The picture on bag shows great quality chipping' s not the same as the contents which contained at least 25% wood chip some at 100-150mm long."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:07/03/2014
Reviewer: DIYIndie
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does not look like the picture on the bag
"Nothing wrong with the bark but the sizing and shape resembles the large bark. The small bark shape is nothing like the picture on the bag. Love the smell, if only it would last."
Review 12 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:02/08/2013
Reviewer: MsDIY2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this stuff! and the customer service was first class. The guys had my reserve and collect order ready for me to arrange a home delivery within a couple of hours! thanks Mike and the rest of the lads at Newbury :)"
Review 13 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:27/07/2013
Reviewer: DickTheGardener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Quality
"Just as described. Bought 4 bags, all good quality, well graded bark. No large pieces, as others appear to have found."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:19/07/2013
Reviewer: Dfhouse
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not as it appears on the bag!
"Not a great purchase! The quality of the bark is not as it appears on the bag. I was very disappointed with the contents once opened. Contains lots of wood chip as well as huge chunks of bark with wood attached to the back.. 1 piece was 7" x 4"! Not suitable for play areas or anything other than borders. I would certainly not buy this product again. It also has a very odd smell to it, like manure, and attracts flies by the hundreds! avoid, and spend more on quality product."
Review 15 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:08/07/2013
Reviewer: Alcanlove
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VERY GOOD QUALITY
"Great value bark, would have given a 5, however when opening the bags I found 2 different types of bark, therefore I had to spread around to get the garden boarder to match."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:03/07/2013
Reviewer: mjsmke
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Needed these to cover the floor around our log stores. Very good value with the current 4 for 3 deal. They were damp so needed to be spread around with a fork but after a few days they look and smell great."
Review 17 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:10/06/2013
Reviewer: Bayleaf63
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
General purpose mulch
"If you want a not-too-expensive general mulch for flower beds, this is ok. However, do not buy as a decorative or ornamental ground covering, despite what it says in the description. It looks nothing like the illustration on the pack. If you want something more aesthetically pleasing, go for a more expensive decorative bark, probably from somewhere that has samples on display. Just bought 5 bags of this and it already looks like its about 5 years old. :("
Review 18 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:22/05/2013
Reviewer: waltham
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very cross
"I am very disappointed with this product it is not chipped bark it is a waste of money I think it should be withdrawn from sale"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:18/05/2013
Reviewer: Masi
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the job it was purchased for.
"Used for my Hens small run works well and looks good too."
Review 20 for Verve Small Chipped Bark 100L
Date:02/05/2013
Reviewer: Bill1945
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ground cover
"Good product, but be careful when lifting bales, very heavy when wet!"
1 2 3 next>>