Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L

An economic, peat based, all - purpose compost for general use indoors and outdoors. Suitable for sowing seeds, rooting cuttings, transplanting seedlings, potting up containers and baskets and planting out in the garden.
Average Customer Rating:
4.12 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
14
77 of 92(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Review 1 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:07/07/2014
Reviewer: sy00
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wood chippings?
"Very variable.
One bag last week was fine.
This week 2 bags are just full of shredded wood. Not compost in any meaning of the word.
Not pleased.
If it's shredded wood - call it 'Shredded wood'?"
Review 2 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:02/07/2014
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super product
"I've just bought 9 bags of this compost. Unlike a limited number of other reviewers I didn't find any plastic or large pieces of wood or stones in any of the bags. It is an excellent product at a very competitive price and I'm really pleased with it. You do need 2 able bodied people to manhandle the bags because they are really heavy."
Review 3 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:15/05/2014
Reviewer: Back
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First class
"Ordered to collect in store - arrived on date specified to find all 6 bags loaded up on a trolley and waiting at customer services. First class service and the product was as described on the bag. Excellent experience all round."
Review 4 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:12/05/2014
Reviewer: DRH225
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what it says on the tin!
"Just what it says on the tin! Never used these before - bags, compost and potatoes (Charlotte) all booked from B&Q at same time, so will have to wait & see if they grow OK."
Review 5 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:09/05/2014
Reviewer: titch69
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
verve multipurpose compost 125L
"I have always purchased B & Q multipurpose compost for many years, having purchased not only 125L but also the smaller 50L I am extremely disappointed in the quality. It states that it is suitable for seedlings for which I have always used it for but to find large pieces of wood and fibrous matter along with stones is not the ideal medium for growing anything, I have probably thrown out 30% in wood, plastic debris and unacceptable other items. It also states that it is peat based but both my recent purchases claim to have zero peat, it does not retain moisture and dries out extremely quickly. Had it not been for the size of the bags I would have gladly returned the items, I will not be purchasing this item again."
Review 6 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:09/05/2014
Reviewer: OhmsLaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
"Fantastic price for a top quality product.
Only draw back is the weight of the bag, you need two people of reasonable strength to handle the bags.
Smaller bags that are easier to handle are available but the price per litre of compost is obviously more expensive. :("
Review 7 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:07/05/2014
Reviewer: UncleT
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very, Very disappointing
"I have used B&Q compost as an all round garden compost since moving to my current house 17 years ago. I have found it to be excellent quality and have recommended it to friends on numerous occasions. I recently bought two 125 litres from the Harlow store on two separate occasions 3 weeks apart. On both occasions I found it filled with shreds of black and transparent plastic bags, numerous small stones and twigs, a large amount of tree bark and what appears to be the kind of fibrous material you find on the trunks of certain palms. Once bitten, twice shy. I am devastated that the source of such good compost has been lost to me."
Review 8 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:06/05/2014
Reviewer: wdbs
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Verve compost.
"Excellent compost just planted Two pear trees in pots and they seem to be thriving on the compost highly recommended."
Review 9 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:02/05/2014
Reviewer: ladygiggs
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"i have bought this compost for many years and have always recommended it to others, ive always used this for my seeds, so i was very disappointed this year, after purchasing 2 bags, to start my seeds off, to discover the quality very poor, instead of the usual, crumbly compost that my plants thrive in, i found both bags contained what can only be described as bark chippings. i'm hoping this is a 1 off, or a bum batch, but i'm wary of buying more, only to get it home and find its the same. usually i'd give this [roduct 5 stars but this years exoerience has to be 1"
Review 10 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:27/04/2014
Reviewer: Gonetopot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money
"I found this product very good value for money,good for seeds,tubs and pots and cuttings. The 125 litre pack is very heavy but that is the only downside to it."
Review 11 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:26/04/2014
Reviewer: nursey60
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb
"great buy, cheaper than all the multi buys, and good all rounder"
Review 12 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:25/04/2014
Reviewer: Arjent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value
"Although these bags are heavy to use i find that by using the bigger bag the represent value for money"
Review 13 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:03/04/2014
Reviewer: EMLUAE
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fourth bale of this compost
"I initially choose a bale of Verve Multipurpose after reading the Which? report on Composts. I now use it frequently in my pots, in planting and for mulching - it is a good complement to the rougher organic mix I produce in my compost bins. Best of all, it is one of the most economical products on the market."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:28/03/2014
Reviewer: Millieb1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all round everyday use compost
"Excellent for most jobs in the garden, nice texture and the smell is good quite earthy, so far good results and so would recommend. in addition its very good value for money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:26/03/2014
Reviewer: Dodger41
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value
"Great value pack it will see me through the summer, such a great price"
Review 16 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:26/03/2014
Reviewer: fishphotos
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
"Usually very good quality you do get the occasional large piece of wood etc but still very good quality. Ideal for planting on and for potting up. Not so good for seeds I usually use the Verve seed compost as it is a lot finer and I get very good germination results."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:19/03/2014
Reviewer: rockingardener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
"I use an awful lot of compost for seeds, potting on and refreshing over wintered tender plants in pots/baskets. Based upon previous reviews I hot foot it down to B&Q and purchased 2 bags, be warned a bag is mighty heavy! Got home opened and was pleasently surprised - visually really great, texture was virtually the same as expensive seed compost - so far no lumps of wood, fibre etc. Need to wait and see how performs but given my initial findings, I will be down again at the weekend for another 4 bags!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:26/02/2014
Reviewer: seaward
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value for Money
"I have opened one bag and found it managed to fill two and a half large plastic garden containers. There is certainly 125 litres per bag which works out really good value for money"
Review 19 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:20/02/2014
Reviewer: Anne14
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Value Compost Ever
"Best value compost have ever come across! 125lt. At a garden centre you pay this price for 60 to 75lt.
Also very good quality.
"
Review 20 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:28/01/2014
Reviewer: JimmyGreenfingers
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too soon to know.
"Just opened a bag at home to split it into smaller bags that make it more manageable. If it grows as good as it looks I will be well pleased. So based on pence per liter and looks it's a 5 star. I will update my review once I have used the compost and got some results."
1 2 3 4 5 next>>