Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L

An economic, peat based, all - purpose compost for general use indoors and outdoors. Suitable for sowing seeds, rooting cuttings, transplanting seedlings, potting up containers and baskets and planting out in the garden.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
10
69 of 80(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Review 1 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:03/04/2014
Reviewer: EMLUAE
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fourth bale of this compost
"I initially choose a bale of Verve Multipurpose after reading the Which? report on Composts. I now use it frequently in my pots, in planting and for mulching - it is a good complement to the rougher organic mix I produce in my compost bins. Best of all, it is one of the most economical products on the market."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:28/03/2014
Reviewer: Millieb1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all round everyday use compost
"Excellent for most jobs in the garden, nice texture and the smell is good quite earthy, so far good results and so would recommend. in addition its very good value for money."
Review 3 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:26/03/2014
Reviewer: Dodger41
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value
"Great value pack it will see me through the summer, such a great price"
Review 4 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:26/03/2014
Reviewer: fishphotos
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
"Usually very good quality you do get the occasional large piece of wood etc but still very good quality. Ideal for planting on and for potting up. Not so good for seeds I usually use the Verve seed compost as it is a lot finer and I get very good germination results."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:19/03/2014
Reviewer: rockingardener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
"I use an awful lot of compost for seeds, potting on and refreshing over wintered tender plants in pots/baskets. Based upon previous reviews I hot foot it down to B&Q and purchased 2 bags, be warned a bag is mighty heavy! Got home opened and was pleasently surprised - visually really great, texture was virtually the same as expensive seed compost - so far no lumps of wood, fibre etc. Need to wait and see how performs but given my initial findings, I will be down again at the weekend for another 4 bags!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:26/02/2014
Reviewer: seaward
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value for Money
"I have opened one bag and found it managed to fill two and a half large plastic garden containers. There is certainly 125 litres per bag which works out really good value for money"
Review 7 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:20/02/2014
Reviewer: Anne14
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Value Compost Ever
"Best value compost have ever come across! 125lt. At a garden centre you pay this price for 60 to 75lt.
Also very good quality.
"
Review 8 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:28/01/2014
Reviewer: JimmyGreenfingers
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too soon to know.
"Just opened a bag at home to split it into smaller bags that make it more manageable. If it grows as good as it looks I will be well pleased. So based on pence per liter and looks it's a 5 star. I will update my review once I have used the compost and got some results."
Review 9 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:26/01/2014
Reviewer: hoppyg
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
compost
"The item is the best value and quality on the market for a general potting compost"
Review 10 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:16/01/2014
Reviewer: Mark1702
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always good value for money!!
"I had that before and I would buy this in the future. Always good value for money!! Recommended."
Review 11 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:30/09/2013
Reviewer: ZombieTed
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome did what i wanted
"Bought 3 of these today with 2 farmyard manure, I wanted to much my raised boarders. It really is better than I expected. Really fine and easy to work with, Not clumpy and full of twigs. I use named brands of compost in my greenhouse from B&Q, but I would try this next spring. Anyway back to the compost and my job. I used 4 scoops of this to 1 farmyard scoop. Give it a mix and spread. The results look great but it was too dark by then to get the photo."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:05/09/2013
Reviewer: Jimstar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent but strange results!
"I built a raised flowerbed some two months ago using Verve multicompost. The results are excellent am growing three types of rambling roses up a trellis + carnations an other assorted plants .... one strange thing though ... in the last two weeks two potato plants started growing in the plot!
Could the fact that the multicompost comes from Ireland be a clue?
"
Review 13 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:22/08/2013
Reviewer: simps46
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good quality compost
"this is the second lot i have bought this year and i am very pleased with it my plants and vegetables have thrived in it,no nasty bits of wood etc in it like another well known shed brand [blue and starts with W] .have bought more to use at end of autumn to pot up bulbs etc,if ok will use this brand again in spring.very pleased with it so far"
Review 14 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:17/08/2013
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value Multipurpose Compost
"Fantastic value compost and great for those larger jobs. Just remember, the bag is heavy."
Review 15 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:24/07/2013
Reviewer: UKIPmalc
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Seems OK. Just started gardening, and have planted lots of seeds in this compost. Holly Hocks, and burrage seeds sprouting within 2 days."
Review 16 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:12/07/2013
Reviewer: MrGardener
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish Compost - don't waste your money
"This compost was absolutely rubbish, poor seed germination, and poor growing results from this. I purchased 7 bags of this in 1 go about 3 months ago, wont be buying it again. I would say it's more of a soil conditioner or a mulch, than a compost. Kept also finding what can only be described as bits of black bin liners in the compost. A friend of mine also purchased 10 bags of this a few months ago, and has also mentioned how rubbish he thinks this compost is. I would advise anyone thinking of buying it, to not waste your money."
Review 17 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:06/07/2013
Reviewer: Busticket
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase Ever
"Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L Is good value for money, i have started to redo my garden, and have put this down to replace the top of the soil, with membrane to stop the weeds coming through, the plants have been taken up and replanted and the growth have been very good, i have brought plant's that have been nearly dead and they are doing very good.
I would recomend to anyone, and it is good value for money.
"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:27/06/2013
Reviewer: PipC
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value
"Have tried many composts and this was among the best. My only concern was that on opening the pack it appeared rather dry and pale coloured but turned out to be very good quality"
Review 19 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:12/06/2013
Reviewer: Mule
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Compost standards
"Compared to similar products this item is of reasonable quality,a little twiggy,but suitable for the "multi purpose"role,make sure you smell the compost before purchasing,I have had two sour bags so far this year,both have been replaced without fuss."
Review 20 for Verve Multipurpose Compost 125L
Date:06/06/2013
Reviewer: sear
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value
"I use this for all my baskets and pots. I probably use about 8 bags a year so they have to be reasonably priced. There are a few twiggy bits in the bag but for my use they are not a problem. I also use it for sowing seeds but sieve it first."
1 2 3 4 next>>