Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Mountfield Mower SP536ES Grey

Featuring a powerful electric key start engine, power drive and a 51cm working this top of the range Mountfield lawnmower will make light work of maintaining larger areas of lawn. Just turn the key to start the engine, engage the rear wheel drive and start cutting!
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield Mower SP536ES Grey
Review 1 for Mountfield Mower SP536ES Grey
Date:04/09/2010
Reviewer: outofpocket
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Im gutted
"I had a mountfield mower for 20+ years and it was fantastic till it fell beyond repair this month so i payed £300 for this one after reading all the reviews and im gutted.
Well the good points,the electric start is good, the mower engine is great, cuts the grass lovely, engine is quiet so now the neighbours can hear me singing along to my ipod.
Now the bad points this is not exhaustive,
The mower is advertised for larger gardens mine is 0.6 of an acre. The grass box fills up within seconds and you are forever empying it. My lawn used to be striped but i can no longer mow from one side to the other without emptying the bag.
The rear wheel drive means you cant spin it on a dime without releasing the go lever, which you are forever catching clothing in or parts of you anatomy.
The mower stops everytime you need to empty the grass box !!
My old mower went at a brisk pace on hare setting and i do mean brisk, this new mower is a slow trudge. What used to take me 2 1/4 hours has just taken me a little over 5 and a half hours !
Mountfield and the HSE have ruined what was a very good mowing platform.
Dont get me wrong the mower is excellent if your garden is small but it is not for the larger garden or an older person who may have weak hands or Arthritis."
Review 2 for Mountfield Mower SP536ES Grey
Date:31/08/2010
Reviewer: ITSNev
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelllent Buy, shame about the Reserve Service
"Excellent mower, highly recommended.
Had this up and running within 30mins out of the box, using the pull started as battery will take atleast 24hrs to fully charge.
I cannot recommend this mower highly enough, great overall value and a "Mountfield""
Review 3 for Mountfield Mower SP536ES Grey
Date:19/08/2010
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the extra cash
"This key start mower is about £100 more expensive than the pull start equivalent. It is however a joy to be able to turn a key to start it rather than pulling on a handle. My wife can start this mower where as she was unable to start our old machine.
The mower was easy to assemble, but do not expect to assemble and then use immediately. The battery needs 24 hours to charge and then needs to 'rest' a further 12 hours before use.
The instructions cover both recoil and key start but ket start instructions are poor. For example no mention is made of where to plug in the leads from the charger when charging the battery.
There is nothing on the charger to tell you that it is working. An indicator light would have been useful.
Overall however it is well made, easy to start (allways starts first time) and simple to adjust the cutting height.
It is excellent value for money. I bought on a Wednesday and got a 10% (£40) discount. I would definately recommend this mower."
Review 4 for Mountfield Mower SP536ES Grey
Date:16/08/2010
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good buy
"The electric start allows my wife to start the mower and of course cut the lawns herself. Joking apart, The mower is finished off to a high standard and cuts very well, the single leaver hight adjustment is most useful feature. The electric start has worked every time and the mower is easy to manouver"
Review 5 for Mountfield Mower SP536ES Grey
Date:15/08/2010
Reviewer: Yavus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower
"Easy to assemble, very well made and started first time what more could you ask for.
Only complaint , why do they not include the oil to get started
"
Review 6 for Mountfield Mower SP536ES Grey
Date:18/05/2010
Reviewer: iannewsman
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real value for money
"I bought one of these 10 days ago. For the price (I paid £279.99) you won't get a better value mower. Easy to put together and starts really easily. Forget all the info about buying the fuel additive it isn't needed. I had some petrol that was about a year old and it started first time and ran fine. The mower is comfortable to use and runs very smoothly.
My gardens are far from flat and it coped fine with all of it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield Mower SP536ES Grey
Date:18/06/2009
Reviewer: Shrek
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Mower! So easy to use!
"Im very very pleased with this mower, especially for £379 with electric start!!. A similar Honda machine with electric start would have been over £900!!
For the normal weekly cut of our two large 30'x100, lawns it copes easily
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.