Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey

Powerful electric grass trimmer and lawn edger. The quick and easy way to trim and edge the contours of your lawn.
Average Customer Rating:
3.814 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
36 of 43(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Review 1 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:16/07/2014
Reviewer: manyana
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
burned out already
"Had trimmer for about 14 months. Only used a few times. Strimming happily for about five minutes today, and machine slowed and stopped. Thought it needed a charge, but then saw smoke from motor.
If it had not burned out, I would have reviewed it much higher.
"
Review 2 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:09/10/2013
Reviewer: Tricky82
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Effective...
"Having had some cheaper brand named grass trimmers, I finally decided to splash out a little more for auto line feed and greater power, etc. I only have a medium sized garden and I felt it just a little overkill to go petrol. This product fulfilled the requirement completely (though I've only used it once so far). Very quick, powerful and consistent cutting, assembly was pretty straight forward also!
Can't comment on things like how quickly it chews though the line yet but it doesn't look like it's gone through a massive amount."
Review 3 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:25/08/2013
Reviewer: topprice1
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"good flymo.but had a bit of trouble with the line.so I fixed it by rewinding& it is now ok"
Review 4 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:05/06/2013
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flymo Contour 500XT
"Product is exactly as described and was easy to assemble. This trimmer seems much more robust than an old 300w model and is much more powerful. It is heavier than my old model so is a little bit more tiring when strimming a high cornish style wall."
Review 5 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:02/06/2013
Reviewer: teejayh
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Trimmer
"We have had three makes of trimmer in the past. We read reviews of several makes before deciding which to purchase. My wife felt that Flymo's are easy to use, so ideally wanted another. Assembling the Trimmer was easy enough. It does everything we want and works well. We've found the automatic Line Feed to be no problem at all and it seems to work well. The wheel for edging makes that function easy and being able to extend or shorten the length of the triimmer handle is good as I am taller than my wife. Although some reviews state the line gets used up quickly, we have found that we have not used much yet. Overall we are very happy with this Trimmer. It has a powerfull motor and is much better than the previous Bosch we had. Would buy another if and when the need arises and would recommend to friends. The purchase price of just under £40 was excellent. Very Good Value."
Review 6 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:01/06/2013
Reviewer: Gar600d
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Strimmer
"I have had a flymo strimmer before and found it to be reliable and effective. When I needed a replacement I looked at a like for like purchase and found the XT500. Plenty of power and good cable length and balanced in use make it a great all round buy"
Review 7 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:24/05/2013
Reviewer: B0B8Y
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money
"Good powerful strimmer. Double automatic line feed makes for a quicker job. I was dreading strimming my foot long 200 sq metre back garden but this strimmer made light work of it. It is a fair bit heavier than my previous strimmer though but has lots of adjustments to make it as comfortable as possible"
Review 8 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:24/05/2013
Reviewer: alihoops
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
makes the job easy
"easy to assemble. easy to operate and does what it says on the box. Good machine ,good value for the money."
Review 9 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:16/05/2013
Reviewer: Hibernator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT STRIMMER
"I bought this after borrowing a petrol powered brush trimmer to try edging our lawns. It was too big and unwieldy and difficult to see where it was cutting, so I decided to go back to electric.
Having read many reviews on the B&Q website I started looking at their prices and finally decided on the 500 watt Flymo. I have assembled it which was remarkably easy, just push and click, though it suffers from the inherent design fault of lack of rigidity. This is because nothing is screwed tight, but held together by spring locators or moulded latches, however it is versatile in adjustment.
On the first cut I was surprised at the power and strength in the cord. I had only found time to manually edge two sides of one lawn but decided to try to tidy up the untidy edges. The cord cut into the lawn to about a depth of 1/2" - 3/4" giving a good start to edge trimming. I was surprised at this as most reviews were critical of the cord supplied but this one did the job. I bought a spare B&Q spool which is plain nylon so it will interesting to compare it with the one supplied which is bobbled.
I am now looking forward to doing the full garden.
One downside, B&Q said next day delivery and even confirmed this by phone. However they use Parcel Force which for us (rural) means Royal Mail and a two day delivery to allow for sorting. Unfortunately we had made special arrangement to receive a parcel which did not arrive.
"
Review 10 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:13/05/2013
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellant
"Nice and powerful. Cord does not break, though we might add a stronger one later. Have used it a couple of times and it coped well with an overgrown bank not having been strimmed over the winter."
Review 11 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:03/05/2013
Reviewer: salti
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked well but....
"Worked well but wire used up on second usage so I had to buy replacement spool
I liked the way I was able to roll the trimmer along the edge of the lawn and the ability to change the position of the head.
Warning - I cut my face twice with flying stones so wear a face protector.
"
Review 12 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:02/05/2013
Reviewer: NBBJ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what it says on the box!
"Somewhat on the heavy side but is easy to use and handle. Well made and thought out giving a good all round result in use."
Review 13 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:12/11/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
STRIMMING HEAVEN
"If, like me, you have been driven to the point of insanity by corded strimmers, this is the one for you. I strimmed my little 'wild' patch without a single stop for cord adjustments. Hallelujah!"
Review 14 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:15/09/2012
Reviewer: diipii
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this after using a 300w model for a long time and which I found weak.
This trimmer feels chunky and strong and the power seems very adequate. The supplied line is way too thin and I will replace it with 1.5mm Stihl line in cut lengths.
It went together OK but the shaft has refused to adjust in spite of loosening some screws so I will leave well alone and use as is. More a tractor than a sports model which I expect to be well up to the job.
While in the store I might have been tempted by a petrol model but they were out of stock. The staff in the store were friendly and very helpful.
"
Review 15 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:05/09/2012
Reviewer: Rogerx
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Versatile Strimmer. Great Value.
"The product worked really well as soon as I had figured out how to assemble it. The instructions were detailed but could be quite difficult to follow. Best strimmer we have ever had. The string is strong enough to handle cutting tough grass and weeds. The wheel around the motor lets you guide the machine in straight lines and curves. It can get access to difficult to reach areas. And it has a nice feature for preserving flower beds while you cut the edge of the lawn. It would be nice if they could produce a set of assembly instructions that are a little simpler to understand and don't assume that you will understand everything they explain in the instructions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:29/06/2012
Reviewer: Syltonian
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flymo Contour 500XT Trimmer.
"First used to cut grass on a 10m x 5m lawn that was overgrown to a height of 50cm, before using my Flymo Sprinter E400 Duo Hover mower.
By cutting in narrow swathes the trimmer performed well.
When used in lawn edging mode the large wheel made it easy to produce a nice clean edge.
The trimmer is better and more powerful than my older Flymo Multi Trim 300.
The 500XT is a bit more tiring with prolonged use owing to its extra weight but overall it is a better machine.
"
Review 17 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:27/06/2012
Reviewer: Fatherex
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well
"Easy to put together but I found the instructions contained in the box were useless. All the functionality
worked as described on the web site.
"
Review 18 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:17/05/2012
Reviewer: oldman2
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Be cautious
"I purchased this trimmer a few days ago and having assembled it (very easy) set off to tidy up the garden. Within seconds the line sheared off and disappeared and this just kept happening, what was I trimming? grass and weeds. I was in despair and thought the product useless but I had bought a back up spare reel and line so decided to fit it. The spare is a B&Q product, not Flymo and the result was perfection, I now have a great trimmer that does the job very well. I contacted Flymo who frankly couldn't have cared less, initially offering to buy back the trimmer and then refusing to agree to my request of a refund of the reel and line (the faulty bit) I would recommend the trimmer, BUT only with the line replaced ( allow another £6 for this) but cannot recommend Flymo's customer care. The trimmer is 5* Flymo 0* hence 2*."
Review 19 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:28/03/2012
Reviewer: Reedy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good Value - Lightweight and does the job
"I used this product all of last year to maintain lawn edging and grass trimming.
If has a telescopic handle which I found very useful and the trimmer is light and easy to manoeuvre.
The line will wear away quite quickly if it comes into contact with hard material i.e. brick, paving slap. So you find may fine you are frequently have to turn it upside down to feed more line to complete your task. But I found this normal with the blue line feed spools. Feeding more line was a breeze as its done by pressing a button underneath the spool.
I haven't found the issues with the line feed, which other reviews have complained about.
If you want a Grass Trimmer with the ability to maintain the edge of the lawn. This is a good lightweight product which you can wield out to keep your lawn looking nice and neat.
A great value product."
Review 20 for Flymo Contour 500XT Grass Trimmer 9669524-01 Orange/Grey
Date:17/11/2011
Reviewer: Patsygirl
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good but....
"It's lightweight, works ok but ... the first time I used it the blade broke, and I don't know how to fix it - so it ended up in the shed unused."
1 2 3 next>>