Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow

This powerful 38cc 2 stroke engine petrol chainsaw fitted with 40cm Oregon chain & bar chainsaw. This chainsaw ensures effortless pruning of tree branches or felling smaller saplings. It's also useful for cutting wood and logs for the fire.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
13 of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Review 1 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:30/10/2010
Reviewer: Referee
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good chainsaw
"A well constructed small chainsaw offering good performance for the appropriate sized tasks.
Ensure you read & follow comprehensive assembly & machine starting instructions to avoid difficulties.
Regularly check oil resevoir levels & adjust chain tension as necessary."
Review 2 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:23/10/2010
Reviewer: DodgeEnright
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Time Chainsaw
"excellant saw!
real work horse!
can find no fault!
light on fuel!
easy start!
professional bar and chain!
powerful for a light weight saw!
have cut done 12 by 100ft conifer trees, limbed and chopped up for the fire, so its has more than paid for itself. saw it a steal for €102
"
Review 3 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:25/08/2010
Reviewer: ASHY1
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great,Brilliant,....BUY IT!
"GREAT MACHINE, dont forget! prime as instructed, pull the cord 5 times and then PUSH IN THE CHOKE! or it will be a nightmare to start,
PAY ATTENTION TO CHAIN ADJUSTMENT INSTRUCTIONS.
"
Review 4 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:22/08/2010
Reviewer: vpm57
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tertiary petrol chainsaw
"Fantastic little machine, unfortunatly when i brought this machine it didn't come with a chain because people keep stealing them from the boxes (naughty naughty)
but B&Q do a replacement chain and blade set which fits perfectley, it's 25mm shorter than the original, still cut's very well.
tipical 2 stroke, choke on, pull the cord 2-3 times or till it fires up then pull trigger to release choke then pull cord another 2-3 times and off you go.
"
Review 5 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:07/08/2010
Reviewer: Dayville
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top buy!!
"Purchased this saw from local B&Q, Excellent performance at a bargain price!. Assembly a bit fiddley (remember to wear gloves, AND read the instructions!!) but overall a brilliant performer. Had it felling conifers up to 18" diameter (just 'nibble' away at them, don't try a single cut ) Recommended"
Review 6 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:26/07/2010
Reviewer: TreeFeller
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Buy!
"Fantastic value for money at £67 in the sale, full price of £85 would also be great value. Starts easily, runs reliably. Chain tensioner is a bit fiddly, but not worth losing a star for. The anti-vibration handle works really well. Only used for 4 hours so far but that's already paid for it! All in all - Excellent!"
Review 7 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:21/06/2010
Reviewer: deltas4
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cracking little saw
"ive been looking for a chainsaw for a while and the reviews on this thread made it seem to be the best choice. trying to start it for the first time was a pig but reading earlyer threads it was sorted. ive cut down some fairly big stuff with this little saw and it works great. its nice and lite, and on the whole performs well. if you regulary sharpen the chain it out performs saws i have used that are twice the price. i dont think there is a better value for money chain saw on the market."
Review 8 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:12/05/2010
Reviewer: Jimbo1962
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dont give up
"I was on the point of returning this chainsaw before I sussed out a starting routine, and I knew that 2 strokes can be temperamental starters.
From cold , guard forward, choke on, give a couple of pulls and it will run for a second or two. Then, like the book says, pull in the throttle trigger, choke off now, and pull again, (a third hand comes in useful here), and it should fire up.
Ive used an electric chainsaw for years but its now great to have this little petrol for remote cutting.
"
Review 9 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:30/03/2010
Reviewer: nickshoot
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gold Dust
"Make no mistake, this is an absolute bargain.
The chain and chain bar are Oregon, which means industry standard (obtainable all over the world).
some have commented about starting, well let me digress: 1) Choke on (cold), pull to start. Motor splutters. 2) press choke in (don't press throttle) and pull again, motor bursts into life every time, blip throttle to drop revs to idle.
For hot start just pull chord.
Yes the motor runs a little rich but can easily be adjusted (instructions provided).
I suppose it runs factory rich as part of break-in cycle so please don't get frustrated!!!
Far superior to electric for power, and for portability...
At this price it's a steal!
"
Review 10 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:27/03/2010
Reviewer: underwhelmed
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
maybe a bad example..
"I purchased this product with high expectations, sadly
it has not been running long enough to judge. It is a pig to start and needs constant adjustment.. Total useful running time 5 minutes. It will be going back and replaced for an electric model. ...
"
Review 11 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:19/03/2010
Reviewer: ROCHDALE
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BARGIN
"TOP SAW GOT 1 2DAY WITH 20 PERCENT OFF COST ME 67 QUID CUTS MY LOGS LIKE KNIFE THROUGH BUTTER MY NABOUR HAS MCCULEN AND THIS IS BETTER HOPE THIS HELPS YOU BUYERS"
Review 12 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:17/03/2010
Reviewer: North
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not impressed
"Not nearly as good as my electric chainsaw. A nightmare to start - continually floods. Will be returning it."
Review 13 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:03/03/2010
Reviewer: Chrisk
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Performance and Price
"The price belittles the performance of this excellent chainsaw. Buy one if you see them on sale, you won't regret it."
Review 14 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:10/02/2010
Reviewer: alant
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
"This chainsaw is best tool I ever purchased.
No hassle to assemble or maintain.
Starts first pull
Cut like a knife through butter
Well balanced and very low vibration make it a joy to use.
And whats more it is one of the cheapest available.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:23/11/2009
Reviewer: kathikas
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Buy
"I live in Cyprus & brought this machine with me last time I came to UK. I have used the saw frequently to obtain wood for my log burning fire in our lounge.
I have cut Olive tree wood, Carob tree wood, grape wood & pine. No problem, I have only sharpened the blade once after over 12 hours work sawing Olive wood, which is quite hard. A good little work horse!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tertiary 38cc Petrol Chainsaw TRY38PCSA Tertiary/Green/Yellow
Date:21/09/2009
Reviewer: fizz
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.