Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at B&Q.

B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White

Changing your bathroom accessories is a quick, cheap, and easy way to update the look of your bathroom. Brighten up the room with a stylish illuminated mirror and keep up to date with the latest fashion with our new selection of wall mounted and freestanding accessories.
Average Customer Rating:
1.667 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
23
5 of 30(17%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Review 1 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:09/09/2012
Reviewer: waynie
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
absolute rubbish
"after just two days panel cracking and bubbling and not even cut panel.only use if u dont use water in your bathroom,b&q should remove this product never known such terrible quality for price"
Review 2 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:10/07/2012
Reviewer: pretzel
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
"We fitted this 6 months ago, having searched for a tongue and groove bath panel. I wish I had seen the reviews before I bought it.
Paint started to bubble within a few days and is now cracked and flaking in several areas. Mdf underneath is swelling and distorted.
This is a shoddy piece of kit that should not be sold for use in a bathroom.
The matching cabinet is no better - the paint is starting to crack on that too, despite our best attempts to avoid splashing any water on it.
I wish I had not bought it."
Review 3 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:29/06/2012
Reviewer: magkatmeg
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
'Do Not Buy'
"Wish i had read reviews also lasted less than one week before blistered in three places ! very poor quality.Now need to replace unable to return as had to cut to size."
Review 4 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:05/06/2012
Reviewer: bella67
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
"We have only had this for about 7-8 weeks and already the top and bottom is splitting/letting in water.
Unfortunately this had to be cut to fit so can't return for refund. This is obviously not fit to use in a bathroom. Don't buy !!
"
Review 5 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:31/05/2012
Reviewer: andymandy
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
do not buy
"After a few weeks the bath panel blew.I Wish I had read your reviews before I had bought It.After paying for our plumber to fit our new bathroom we have just had to remove it,ripping the new carpet in the process. Im not very happy at all.Our local store have given us a full refund with free delivery on our new purchase but its still alot of hassle."
Review 6 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:15/05/2012
Reviewer: StevenKatie
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disaster Panel
"Spent lots of money having the bathroom redone and looked fab for 2 days until the panel started to split, bubble and peal. What a pile of rubbish - Worst purchase of my life. I will need to remove it and buy a new one but B&Q will pay to get the bathroom all fixed up I can tell you. Is only a shame I can not give less than 1 star."
Review 7 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:16/04/2012
Reviewer: BigGreenKwak
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother
"The panel feels and looks good quality.....for the first day. Less than one week after fitting it has split and cracked. Now I have to rip it out and take it back for a refund and start all over again. DON'T BOTHER WITH THIS PANEL."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:13/04/2012
Reviewer: Duj0320
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WORST EVER PURCHASE
"i can only say that I wish had read the reviews on this item before we purchased it. This panel is not waterproof and after only a few weeks has split and crack STEER CLEAR OF THIS PANEL. We are returning it for a refund."
Review 9 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:25/03/2012
Reviewer: Tarbs
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WORST PURCHASE EVER!!!
"Fitted the panel according to instructions and looked perfect along with tongue and groove cabinet I bought elsewhere.
Problem started after just a few days - white paint/coating started cracking/peeling on the inevitable water splashes/spillage.
Good looking product but its a shame its VERY poor quality as its not waterproof.
AVOID @ ALL COSTS!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:19/03/2012
Reviewer: DuncanDisorderly
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DONT EVEN BOTHER
"Paint started to crack the day after I fitted the panel. As time has gone on (4 months), the paint has bloomed all over!
It is made of water absorbing MDF, and the paint is waterbased. An absolutly terrible item.
Do not purchase to fit to a bath, only for firewood."
Review 11 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:13/03/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your time or money
"I wish I had read the reviews on this product before buying. My husband has only just fitted it, so we have yet to see if it is waterproof. The problem we found was that it was not easy to fit to an existing bath frame and had to be adapted to fit properly which was time consuming and extremely frustrating. Whoever designed this product should be sacked as they are clearly not very good at their job!"
Review 12 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:20/01/2012
Reviewer: HaveAGoHero
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not waterproof, not fit for purpose
"I read these reviews and decided to get it anyway - which was a big mistake.
Even without cutting the panel, it was not waterproof. The panel blew out in 2 places within 2 days of fitting it.
Returned for a full refund. B&Q customer services told me they would be investigating the issue with their Quality Control dept.
Please don't waste a weekend of your life fitting and then removing this product."
Review 13 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:16/01/2012
Reviewer: Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish - Do NOT Buy
"Bought this bath panel in August. MDF began to blow by September - panel now completely blown and needs replacing once again. Simply do not purchase - not fit for purpose."
Review 14 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:31/10/2011
Reviewer: RusbourneRenovations
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rubbish
"this bath panel is made of standard MDF that is not water resistant and finished with water based paint. It blew out 1 week after installation. Not fit for purpose and should have been removed from the shelves after 1st review identifying its inadequacey."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:29/10/2011
Reviewer: bradleybear
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk
"This is an expensive and poorly designed product. The panel is not white but cream. It comes without the necessary fixings but with a lot of necessary modifications to both the existing bath frame and panel. B&Q please note that 25mm screws are not long enough to fix the plinth to the panel! Definitely one to avoid."
Review 16 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:28/09/2011
Reviewer: Endee
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bath Panel
"Seems good quality, looks good. Only drawback is that you have to change the fixings under the bath because the plinth is recessed"
Review 17 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:04/06/2011
Reviewer: nomdfinthebathroom
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst than worse
"Having painted with 3 coats of yachting varnish I thought I would be safe from the exploding mdf, what a fool. 2 days later noticed the water damaged on a major scale in 3-4 places along the panel. Who's brain wave was this, bath panel made of mdf !!!!
MDF not suitable near water - lesson learned.
"
Review 18 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:14/05/2011
Reviewer: madforit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!
"fitted panel and looked really nice when first done, the problem arose when the panel came into contact with water.......swells like a balloon!!!! ive painted the edges with white gloss paint to try and minimise damage but think i will paint whole panel to make waterproof. very poor indeed."
Review 19 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:12/05/2011
Reviewer: Chrisupnorth
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do Not Buy This Item. It's Not Fit For Purpose.
"Installed on Sunday. Looked fine. Used bath for the first time on Monday morning. By Monday evening noticed that MDF had blown in several places where water drips had come into contact with panel. Returned to store for refund on Tuesday. Don't waste your time and money!"
Review 20 for B&Q Tongue And Groove Effect MDF Front Panel White
Date:23/04/2011
Reviewer: kevinfromCoventry
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product not fit for purpose
"Whilst the product looks great new, i had the same problem as Andyfrombrighton - soon after it was installed, the panel has cracked and swollen - very disappointing.
A complaint has been logged, so i await to see what B&Q's customer service is like..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>