Product Reviews

Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire

The Evoke electric LCD fire is an innovative way to get a real flame effect fire in your room. This fire comes with 5 effects, Coal Flame, Log Flame, Ribbon Flame, Lava Lamp and Summer River Effect.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
20 of 32(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Review 1 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:06/01/2014
Reviewer: JR1967
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not worth money LCD keeps breaking
"I bought this fire in 2011 and the LCD broke down with no display. It was replaced by manufacturer in fen 2012 and LCD has failed again lines across the display. Have been told it need new LCD at a cost of £246.90 even though fire is less than 2 years old but because it was a replacement the 3 year warranty doesn't count. I would advise people to steer clear unless they are happy to only get a couple if years use out of fire if your lucky as I don't use it thought the summer months so it's probably only had a years use
Absolute waste of money better off with a £99 fire
"
Review 2 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:04/10/2013
Reviewer: Candie
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not recommended
"At first we were very pleased with this fire, having only purchased it for its visual effects, it was expensive costing a lot more than it does at present. The visual effects worked well for about 2 years and then the screen became difficult to program and there was a whirling noise coming from the back of the screen. Eventually the screen blacked out altogether. Luckily it was within the 3 year guarantee and 2 service engineers came to replace the disfunctional part, however they had come with the wrong part! 3 Days later a I was informed that a new fire was to be delivered. I was pleased with this service. However, the new screen lasted less than a year, each picture crashed until we had no visual effects at all! Fed up, we have now dumped it in the garage to be disposed of."
Review 3 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:15/06/2013
Reviewer: Exlibris
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
"Easy to install, works a treat and has plenty of screens to watch if you get bored, plus it is economical according to the literature- we shall wait and see, but are pleased that we were able to buy it while it was on offer!"
Review 4 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:07/06/2013
Reviewer: Happysolucky
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing flame effects
"I was persuaded to buy this fire by my wife, I hate to admit it be she was right, it is great.
Comes with a bracket and to fit the fire on the wall, and masonary wall plugs and screws. hang the fire on the bracket, put on the polished black glass facia and plug it in, done!! The remote also feels like a good quality item, about the same size as an I phone.
It was only a 10 minute job, there is a lso a 3 year guarantee, just keep hold of the reciept and your covered!"
Review 5 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:10/04/2013
Reviewer: fireblademan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stunning !
"this fire is stunning,,,, after much reserch we opted for this lcd focal point, it has 9 "fire" settings with sound effects !! my little nephew loves "the finding Nemo " setting lol. everyone who sees it coments on it..... yes the blower heater is on the top and slightly noisey but all blower heaters are,we feel that the heater is sufficient for our size of living room 4mx3.6m and you turn it off when the central heating comes on anyway, the remote control is fine as well all in all a great product !!!"
Review 6 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:03/03/2013
Reviewer: zzup
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cold feet
"the fan heater is at the top of the fire so all the heat goes up the wall, as heat rises the room does not get warm and everyone has cold feet"
Review 7 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:25/01/2013
Reviewer: Sandow
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy
"Easy to install.Looks great,effects brilliant,all our friends and family have been impressed with it."
Review 8 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:03/01/2013
Reviewer: Shazzamee
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would be lovely if remote actually worked
"This fire was purchased in August 2012 but was not unpacked or fitted as we were moving in the October - when the fire was fitted - the remote does not work so you are stuck with the burning logs, this is not good enough as we need it to be remote as my mother has mobility problems. I have tried unsucessfully to contact the manufacturer, Focal Point who have failed to respond. All in all it could have been a very good buy but the remote has never worked and the company don't seem to care!"
Review 9 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:20/12/2012
Reviewer: SeaCat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and effective.
"Bought this Evoke electric LCD fire as we do not have a chimney. We wanted a traditional looking fire that was not expensive and easy to install. I did a lot of researching into all kinds of fires:- balanced flue, flueless, opytimysts and various stoves. But my research always came back to this Evoke fire. I am glad it did, and I made the right choice. If I was to say what improvement Evoke could make it would be the sound of the crackling of the wood and coal. They do sound rather tinny and it's a shame there is not a treble and bass level option. However this does not effect the appearance and performance of this fire."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:02/11/2012
Reviewer: KCHESHIRE
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Back to the old days of an open fire.
"This fire is much better than it appears in the showroom. Once it is in a domestic environment with the sound on, cracking away it is so realistic that (a) I find myself just sitting and watching the flames flicker and (b) even with the heating off I find I move away from the flame so not to burn myself. With the heating turned on although the fan can be heard it is not intrusive."
Review 11 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:25/10/2012
Reviewer: Mobanc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evoke Electric Fire
"Easy to put up. Lovely fire, great features. Good for a quick room warming until central heating kicks in. The feature screens are a good talking point. Really like the fire."
Review 12 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:07/10/2012
Reviewer: Hev52
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Laminate lifted
"The fire features are good but the surround is of very inferior quality and within a week of the heater being used the laminate on the front has lifted.I am going to contact B&Q regarding this but as yet haven't had the time."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:06/09/2012
Reviewer: canny
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy
"It's stylish and it's great to have a variation of effects, I especially like the river scene also it seems warming just to have the fire flame displayed without having the fire heat on."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:31/10/2011
Reviewer: Bitterman
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The grandkids love it
"This is something else - it is a 2Kw fire certainly, but it is also an entertainment centre !! Our grandchildren, four of them between 2yrs and 7yrs, find the screens fascinating, both the images and the 'sound effects'. The fire part of it seems fine as well."
Review 15 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:20/09/2011
Reviewer: Petra789
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evoke fire
"I had read some poor reviews but I saw it working in store. Upon using it I was impressed by the overall effect. The fire feels warmer because of the graphics even without the heat on.
Only complaint: The surround wasn't mounted level with the fire. Had to adjust the front surround.
All fixings are good, the product is well made."
Review 16 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:05/09/2011
Reviewer: Carol01
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great focal point in living room
"Enhances room and mesmerising to watch flames! Only downside for me is heat comes out of top of fire.
Would recommend.
"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:01/09/2011
Reviewer: Greybeard
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
EVOKE ELECTRIC FIRE
"I Bought the above over a week ago thought it very Expensive but it looked good,On trying to assemble it found that the wall mounting plate was missing.I have so far Phoned Focal Point Once and sent three EMails trying to sort this out,,I haven`t even had an acknowlledgement from them.Next step their MD.
I do agree with a previous review that the fan is a bit noisy and does drow out the crackle effect.
however I may get it on the wall sometime.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:07/07/2011
Reviewer: ss1785
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stunnimg
"this fire is an absolute stunning foucle point in the room. have only had it 2 weeks and it has completly changed the appearence of the room. i am very pleased with it and would definatly recomend it to a freind."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:22/06/2011
Reviewer: unhappy123
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor quality, very disappointed
"Got this fire yesterday, very disappointed. Looks cheap and nasty. Would have been disappointed at half the price. Remote control is so flimsy its unreal. Returning to store."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evoke Black Glass Frame Wall Hung Electric Fire
Date:20/01/2011
Reviewer: grandad7
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dissapointing
"I am disspointed with this fire. In store it looked good and I was impressed by the crackling coal effect. In use it sticks out too far from the chimney breast, Fan is noisey, drowns out the crackle and causes vibration in the unit.It's been in use for a year now and the remote control never did work properly. A very expensive fire which in reality is a big let down. I don't have a problem with heat output as this is adequate for me. Would I buy another?.............methinks NOT!
far better value heaters on the market.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>